UConn Writing Centers
Drop by your campus writing center to schedule a writing tutoring session during fall and spring semesters.
- Avery Point Campus Writing CenterAvery Point's Academic Center
- Greater Hartford Campus Writing CenterGreater Hartford Campus Writing Center
- Stamford Campus Writing Center Writing & Q Center @ UConn Stamford in the Jeremy Richard Library Learning Commons
- UConn Writing Center -Storrs CampusUConn Storrs Writing Center
- Torrington Campus Writing CenterTorrington Campus Writing Center
- Waterbury Campus Writing CenterWaterbury Campus Writing Center
About the Writing Center
The Writing Center is available to offer help with your writing. You may drop in to get help but appointments are recommended to ensure a consultant is available.
Services
-
Comprehensive Writing Strategies
-
Student Tailored Peer Tutoring
-
ESL-Related Writing Tutoring
-
Writing Workshops for Students and Faculty
-
Other Writing-Related Events
The
For more information about tutoring and writing resources, please visit your campus writing center webpage.
Writing Resources
UConn Library Resources
Style Guides & Writing Resources
- Purdue Writing Online (OWL): http://owl.english.purdue.edu/
- APA style guide: http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/560/01/
- MLA style guide: http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/557/01/
- American Heritage Dictionary: http://www.bartleby.com/61/
- Resources for Writers: http://writingcenters.org/resources/resources-for-writers/
- Research and documentation help. Learn not only how to find sources in the humanities, social sciences, history, and the sciences but also how to document them accurately (includes MLA, APA, Chicago, and CSE formats).
- Writing College Papers - This LibGuide helps students write effective college papers, essay exams, and paragraphs and is hosted at Anne Arundel Community College.
- Writing 138: Introduction to Writing in the University (Cornell University)
- Writing 142: Writing and Research (Cornell University)
- http://www.wisc.edu/writing/Handbook/
Grammar & Punctuation
- Grammar Resources from The University of Chicago Writing Program: http://writing-program.uchicago.edu/resources/grammar.htm#grammar
- Guide to Grammar and Style: http://andromeda.rutgers.edu/~jlynch/Writing/
- http://www.studygs.net/
- Common Errors in English: http://www.wsu.edu/~brians/errors/errors.html#errors
- Elements of Style: http://www.bartleby.com/141/
- Check out the University of Minnesota Style Guide's "Misused Words and Expressions," "Words Pronounced or Spelled Similarly, but Different in Meaning," and "Made-up Words and Words in Vogue".
- Gary A. Olson's "Punctuation Made Simple" covers the basics in an easy-to-read format.
- "Punctuation," the University of Ottawa's user-friendly outline of everything you ever wanted to know about commas, semicolons, colons, quotation marks, apostrophes, and dashes, with examples and review quizzes.
- "Clear, Concise and Direct Sentences," a succinct guide to improving your writing from The Writing Center at the University of Wisconsin
English as a Second Language/English as a Foreign Language
Bibliographic Citations
Quick Links to our other Bibliographic Citation LibGuides
- Bibliographic CitationsHumanities, Sciences, Social Sciences
MLA- ACS- APA
Chicago- ASA - Research Minutes: How to Read Citations
Research Minutes is a series for Undergraduates at Cornell University.
Gen. Educ. Oversight Cmte
Useful LibGuides
Resource Guides compiled by UConn Librarians
- Research QuickstartGuides you through the research process, including selecting a topic, finding resources, and creating a bibliography.
- Freshman English 1010 & 1011
- Freshman English TA's & Adjuncts This guide is full of resources for you, the teacher (as opposed to you, the student).
- RefWorks Videossee how easily you can import database citations into your RefWorks account.
- RefWorks Citation ManagerCreate Bibliographies Quickly and Seamlessly



Loading...
