This is the "Online Reference and Books" page of the "Women and Poverty" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Women and Poverty  

How to find research, statistics, and news concerning women and poverty
Last Updated: Jan 27, 2017 URL: http://classguides.lib.uconn.edu/womenpoverty Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Online Reference and Books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Online Reference Books

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Homelessness - Levinson, David
ISBN: 9780761927518
"The first comprehensive resource on this important topic, this set covers the origins of homelessness, current research, and strategies for its prevention. The contributors represent such disciplines as sociology, anthropology, medicine, and social work. Articles address homelessness in eight major American cities and more than 30 cities and nations around the world. Adding depth are bibliographies, a directory of street newspapers, a filmography, and more than 20 primary-source documents offering historical and contemporary perspectives."--"Reference that rocks," American Libraries, May 2005.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of World Poverty - Odekon, Mehmet
ISBN: 1412918073
THE THREE VOLUMES of the Encyclopedia of World Poverty contain some 800 original, previously unpublished articles written by over 100 independent or affiliated scholars. This encyclopedia is intended for use as an authoritative and rigorous source on poverty and related issues. It provides extensive and current information and insight into the contemporary debate on poverty.

Cover Art
Poverty in America: A Handbook 2nd. Ed. - Iceland, John
ISBN: 0520248414
from page 147: "The poverty and inequality underlying much of the international turmoil at the beginning of the twenty-first century threaten to rock the foundations of our own democratic and pluralistic ideals. The wealth and high standards of living enjoyed by the majority of Americans (and Europeans) are simultaneously alluring and repellent to those with little hope of sharing in it. The resulting resentment fuels conflict. Poverty is not just the
problem of those who are poor. Understanding the sources and nature of poverty is in fact the basis for addressing some of the larger social
problems of our day.

Cover Art
Poverty in the Uniter States - Mink, Gwendolyn
ISBN: 1576075974
From the Preface: Understanding the history of poverty in the United States necessarily takes us to many facets of the American past. Central, of course, are the diverse experiences of the many people who have lived in and struggled against poverty. But also important are the economic transformations, the social movements, the competing ideas and ideologies, and the political debates and policy decisions that have made poverty—and the struggle against it—integral parts of the broader American experience since the colonial era. The history of poverty, then, is about the rise of laissez-faire capitalism and efforts to tame and redress its inequities. It is about the divisions of power and prejudice that have systematically denied opportunity to people of color, women, and the unorganized working classes—and the ongoing efforts of civil rights, feminist, welfare rights, and labor activists to challenge those divisions through legislation, litigation, and grassroots political organizing.

Cover Art
World Poverty: A Reference Handbook - Gilbert, Geoffrey
ISBN: 1851095527
Nearly half of the world's population lives on less than $2 a day. While life expectancy climbs to new highs in wealthy countries, inhabitants of poor countries face malnutrition, disease, and early death. How is poverty viewed internationally and what policies are being developed to alleviate world poverty?

World Poverty: A Reference Handbook provides an authoritative overview of world poverty as it stands today. Economic expert Geoffrey Gilbert offers a balanced examination of the controversies and policies surrounding world poverty and addresses such fundamental issues as the definition of poverty and the construction of indicators and indices.

Finding Books or Book Chapters: Use these Databases

  • UConn Libraries Search
    UConn Libraries collections. Find if we own a certain book or video, subscribe to a certain newspaper or magazine or journal, have a particular map, or link out to an online book. Millions of items. Easily request items from other campuses.
  • WorldCat
    Most excellent database! Easy Interlibrary Loan of books we don't have. Tables of contents galore for great results sets. Tells clearly if UConn has the book. Use it early in your research to get the best books.
 

World Organizations & Documents

For worldwide gender issues, search these gateways. Reports from major organizations (Amnesty International, Governmental reports (UK, US, etc.), full text books, country reports specific to gender issues, and much more.

  • Intute: Social Sciences - "...free access to high quality resources on the Internet. Each resource has been evaluated and categorised by subject specialists based at UK universities. We aim to match resources to the women's studies curriculum and the needs of researchers. Our target audience is students, staff and researchers in higher and further education."
  • Eldis Gateway to Development Information : "Each of our subject-focused guides offers quick access to key documents, organisations, research themes, discussions and other key resources."
  • Siyanda - Mainstreaming Gender Equality "Siyanda is an on-line database of gender and development materials from around the world." Frequently updated, well indexed.

About your librarian

Profile Image
Kathy Labadorf
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Logo - Twitter
Contact Info
Phone: 860-486-1253
Office Hours: By App't
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip