This is the "Using Google Scholar" page of the "Research QuickStart" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

University of Connecticut University Libraries

Guides you through the research process, including selecting a topic, finding resources (books, articles, statistics), reading citations, and creating a bibliography.
Last Updated: Oct 14, 2014 URL: http://classguides.lib.uconn.edu/research Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Using Google Scholar Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About Google Scholar

What is Google Scholar?

Google Scholar [scholar.google.com] is a wing of Google that restricts search results to only scholarly sources.  Unlike regular Google searches, your results will contain articles, theses, books, and abstracts from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

Google Scholar is great for obtaining specific articles by title/author, and is especially helpful if you have a only a partial citation. For example, Google Scholar will often be able to find an article with just the article title, and will then provide the full citation, with author, journal title, volume, and year - and provide access to full text options once you have set up Google Scholar.  

It is also a good choice for quickly finding a small number of articles on a topic, or as a starting place to get ideas. However, Google Scholar is not comprehensive, and cannot search with the accuracy of the Library's research databases.  If your research requires very comprehsive searching, or if you are not satisfied with Google Scholar's results, use individual research databases.

Learn more about Google Scholar

 

Google Scholar Setup

When you are on-campus, Google Scholar will display links for access to the full text of search results.

When off-campus, Set Scholar Settings ("Settings" link at the top of the page) to configure Google Scholar to access UConn and iCONN (CT State Library) resources, and enable exporting of citations to RefWorks.

  • under Bibliography Manager
    • select "Show links to import citations into RefWorks"
  • under Library Links
    • enter Connecticut in search box and check "University of Connecticut - UCONNLinks" and "University of Connecticut - ProQuest FullText" in the results
    • repeat search with iConn and check boxes next to the iCONN results
    • repeat search with Open Worldcat and check "Open WorldCat - Library Search"

Be sure to click SAVE

 

Finding Full Text

Results in Google Scholar will be displayed with one of several notations - UCONNLinks[PDF], [HTML], [DOC] - or have no notation at all.

If a notation is displayed, click the link to access the full text.

If no notation is displayed, click More under the citation to display UCONNLinks

UCONNLinks may provide ways to access to the article, OR a link to request a copy through Document Delivery/Interlibrary Loan if we do not have online access.

If the access link does not work, or if there is no link, take your request directly to Document Delivery/Interlibrary Loan. This service obtains scans or loans of materials from other libraries, and is available without charge to UConn faculty, staff, and currently enrolled students.

************
NOTE: links to non-UConn resources may inform you that you will have to pay to see the full text. Don't pay! You can generally obtain any Google Scholar result free through UConn Libraries' sources, such as databases, UConn WorldCat, HOMER or by ordering the paper, article, thesis, book, etc. from InterLibrary Loan.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip