This is the "Finding Statistics" page of the "Research QuickStart" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Research QuickStart  

Guides you through the research process, including selecting a topic, using Google Scholar, finding resources, reading citations, and creating a bibliography.
Last Updated: Mar 27, 2017 URL: http://classguides.lib.uconn.edu/research Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Finding Statistics Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Open Data

In May 2013, President Obama issued an open data policy (PDF) that directs federal agencies to make their data available at www.[agency].gov/data. Find federal government websites by agency.

Connecticut Open Data https://data.ct.gov/

 

Using Google

Google has a public data search which enables users to find and compare data and forecasts from a range of international organizations and academic institutions including the US Census Bureau, World Bank, OECD, and Eurostat.

For example, a keyword search for “population Connecticut” will display a chart at the top of the search results:

When you select this chart, additonal data and filters are provided - making it easy to compare across geographical regions, time periods, and demographics.

 

US and International Statistics

  • American Factfinder
    Use American Factfinder to find statistics about population, housing, industry and business.
  • Statistical Abstract of the United States
    Published by the US Bureau of the Census. Contains statistics on social, economics, and international subjects.
  • USA.gov Data & Statistics
    Research statistics on children and families, crime and justice, economic indicators, and more.
  • Industry Statistics Portal
    A one-stop guide to all US Bureau of the Census industry sources and data collections, searchable by NAICS code.
  • State and County QuickFacts
    State and County QuickFacts provides frequently requested Census Bureau information at the national, state, and county level.
  • Historical Statistics of the United States (HSUS)
    Statistics of the United States, covering population, work and welfare, economics, governance, and international relations. Primary data. Census data starts c1790; some date available from the 1600s; available through 2000 census.
  • USA Trade Online
    Provided by the US Census Bureau's Foreign Trade Division. Contains current and cumulative US import and export data.
  • International Financial Statistics
    Data for over 200 countries. Includes exchange rates, commodity prices, consumer prices, and other financial data.
  • Global Market Information Database (GMID)
    Provides comparable statistics for 205 countries on economic indicators, health, foreign trade, environment, lifestyle, industrial and agriculture output, communications, and more. Also includes market size data for over 300 consumer products and services.
  • Statista
    Statista provides statistics on media, the environment, business and industry, sports, communication, politics, health care and more. Geographic coverage is worldwide, with particular emphasis on the United States, China, and European Union countries.
 

More Statistics

USA.gov Data & Statistics
Research statistics on children and families, crime and justice, economic indicators, and more.

Childstats.gov
Easy access to statistics and reports on children and families, including: population and family characteristics, economic security, health, behavior and social environment, and education.

Digest of Education Statistics
Contains information on a variety of subjects in the field of education statistics, including the number of schools and colleges, teachers, enrollments, and graduates, in addition to educational attainment, finances, federal funds for education, libraries, and international education.

Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
Data on criminal justice organized into topical sections.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip