- American Institute of Mathematics Open Textbook Initiative
A portal to basic and advanced level textbooks reviewed and approved by the American Institute of Mathematics.
- BCcampus OpenEd
A collection of over 70 openly-licensed textbooks created or revised by faculty at British Columbia's post-secondary institutions.
- Center for Open Educational Resources & Language Learning (COERLL)
COERLL's mission is to produce and disseminate Open Educational Resources (OER) for the Internet public (e.g., online language courses, reference grammars, assessment tools, corpora, etc.). Materials for Arabic, Chinese, Czech, French, German, Hebrew, Hindi, Italian, Japanese, Malayalam, Persian, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Turkish, Yoruba
- College Open Textbooks
Variety of subjects, some books peer reviewed.
- Green Tea Press
Free access to downloadable books in the Think series for computer science and statistics. The books in the series were written by Allen Downey, a professor of computer science.
Science, Technology, and Medicine open access books. Includes a small amount of Humanities and Social Sciences as well.
Chemistry, Biology, Geology, Mathematics, Statistics, Physics, Social Sciences, Engineering, Medicine, Agriculture, Photosciences.
"...the LibreTexts project, which is a multi-institutional collaborative venture to develop the next generation of open-access texts to improve post-secondary education at all levels of higher learning. The LibreTexts approach is highly collaborative where an Open Access textbook environment is under constant revision by students, faculty, and outside experts to supplant conventional paper-based books. The LibreTexts project is currently directed by UC Davis Professor and project Founder Delmar Larsen.
One of the oldest and largest collections of online resources for teaching. To find textbooks, use the search function and limit by material type. Advanced Search
- MIT OpenCourseWare Search by Topic/format
Drill down from a Major Topic to Sub-Topic or Specialty. Limit formats as wanted to Video/Audio Lectures Student Work, Lecture Notes, Assessments, Online Textbook, Interactive Simulations.
- National Academies Press
Over 5,000 titles available for free PDF download from the National Academies of Science.
A free and open collection for psychology, sponsored by the Diener Education Fund (DEF).
- OER Commons
Dynamic digital library and network dedicated to curriculum improvement. Many educational levels, types of learning resources, and subjects.
- Open Culture
A directory of 200 open textbooks, arranged by subject.
- Open Textbook Library (University of Minnesota, Twin Cities)
A collection of openly-licensed and free-to-download textbooks created by institutional members of the Open Textbook Network (including Open Stax). The Library is hosted by the University of Minnesota. Business, Economics, Social Sciences, Natural and Physical Sciences, Humanities, and more.
- Open SUNY Textbooks
Open SUNY Textbooks is an open access textbook publishing initiative established by State University of New York libraries and supported by SUNY Innovative Instruction Technology Grants. This pilot initiative publishes high-quality, cost-effective course resources by engaging faculty as authors and peer-reviewers, and libraries as publishing service and infrastructure.
- OpenStax College (Rice University)
An initiative of Rice University that offers open-source textbooks that have been peer-reviewed. Includes textbooks for biology, chemistry, economics, history, math, psychology, and sociology.
- PennState College of Earth and Mineral Sciences OER Course Modules
Open Courseware from these Academic Units
Energy and Mineral Engineering
Materials Science and Engineering
- PhET: INTERACTIVE SIMULATIONS FOR SCIENCE AND MATH
PhET provides free, interactive, research-based science and mathematics simulations. Written in Java, Flash or HTML5, these can be run online or downloaded to your computer. All simulations are open source.
- Saylor Academy Bookshelf
A textbook collection which is heavily business-oriented. Saylor Academy's site also features freely available courses.
- Stitz Zeager Open Source Mathematics
Free trigonometry, algebra, and precalculus textbooks which can be downloaded as PDF documents. Developed by mathematics professors Carl Stitz and Jeff Zeager, winners of the University System of Ohio's 2010 Faculty Innovators Award.