This is the "Home" page of the "Nutritional Science" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Nutritional Science  

Last Updated: Jan 26, 2017 URL: http://classguides.lib.uconn.edu/nutritionalscience Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Searching for Dietary Supplements or Complementary Medicine

There are two relevant subsets in the PubMed database: Dietary Supplements and Complementary Medicine.  Either or both may be searched by using PubMed Limits. 

Databases

PubMed Scholarly journal articles about health and medicine, nutrition and biology

AGRICOLA Indexes articles in agriculture, including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, alternative farming practices, and food and nutrition.

CAB Abstracts Covers agriculture. Includes animal, dairy & veterinary sciences; entomology; plant sciences; forestry; aquaculture & fisheries; farming; agricultural economics; food & human nutrition; earth & environmental sciences

Natural Standard (Integrative Medicine) Evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies. Contains sub-databases: Foods, Herbs & Supplements, Health & Wellness, Comparative Effectiveness, Medical Conditions, and much more. 

Reaxys Reaxys provides in-depth chemical substance and reaction data particularly useful for compound synthesis

Scopus Scholarly journal articles with a heavy emphasis on science topics. A great database for high quality scholarly articles on any topic. International scope. Excellent for citation searching. 1996-present for citation searching

 

 

 

      

    Additional Resources

    http://www.nal.usda.gov/fnic/foodcomp/search/ USDA National Nutrient Database

    http://www.thecochranelibrary.com/view/0/index.html The Cochrane Library provides reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care.

    http://ods.od.nih.gov/factsheets/list-all/  Dietary Supplement Fact Sheets

    https://dietarysupplementdatabase.usda.nih.gov/ Dietary Supplements Labels Database

    www.consumerlab.com

    http://rdl.lib.uconn.edu/databases/1578 SciFinder Scholar Web Access a chemistry database

    Subject Guide

    Profile Image
    Sharon Giovenale
     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip