This is the "Home" page of the "NURS 4265 Nursing Past as Prologue" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

NURS 4265 Nursing Past as Prologue   Tags: nurs_4265, nursing_history, nursing_past, prologue  

Last Updated: Mar 27, 2017 URL: http://classguides.lib.uconn.edu/nursinghistory Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books on the topic

This guide will direct you to general resources on the history of the nursing profession, as well as some special collections at our Archives & Special Collections at the Dodd Research Center.

For background information, start with books.  Find books on the topic using the Libraries' General Search box which will search our online catalog.   Review the guide, "Using the Libraries General Search" for tips on searching.

Cover Art
Sister Kenny: The woman who challenged the doctors - Victor Cohn
Call Number: RT37.K39 C63 1975
ISBN: 0816607559
Publication Date: 1976-02-01
Kenny, Elizabeth; Poliomyelitis -- History. Print book is at the library. Another copy is at the Archives & Special Collections' Josephine A. Dolan Nursing History Collection.

Cover Art
They Called Them Angels - Kathi Jackson
Call Number: D807.U5 J33 2000
ISBN: 0275968995
Publication Date: 2000-06-30
A topical presentation of firsthand accounts from some of the thousands of army and navy nurses who served both stateside and overseas during World War II, this book tells the stories of the brave women who used any and all resources to save as many lives as possible.

Cover Art
Routledge Handbook on the Global History of Nursing - Patricia D'Antonio (Editor); Julie A. Fairman (Editor); Jean C. Whelan (Editor)
Call Number: RT31 .R68 2013
ISBN: 9780415594271
Publication Date: 2013-07-10
Captures the state of the art and science of nursing history. Organized into four parts, and addressing nursing around the globe, it covers: New directions in the history of nursing; New methodological approaches; The politics of nursing knowledge; Nursing and its relationship to social practice. nursing history and health policy courses.

Cover Art
Nursing Before Nightingale, 1815-1899 - Carol Helmstadter; Judith Godden
Call Number: RT11 .H45 2011
ISBN: 9781409423133
Publication Date: 2011-11-28
Nursing Before Nightingale is a study of the transformation of nursing in England from the beginning of the nineteenth century until the emergence of the Nightingale nurse as the standard model in the 1890s. This book investigates two major earlier reforms in nursing: a doctor-driven reform which came to be called the 'ward system,' and the reforms of the Anglican Sisters, known as the 'central system' of nursing. Rather than being the beginning of nursing reform, Nightingale nursing was the culmination of these two earlier reforms.

 

The following books will be on Reserve soon (iDesk on Plaza Level)

Cover Art
Antique Medical Instruments - Elisabeth Bennion
Call Number: R856 .B42 1979
ISBN: 0520038320
Publication Date: 1979-01-01
History of medical and surgical instruments and apparatus.

Cover Art
Devices and Desires - Margarete Sandelowski
Call Number: RT42 .S26 2000
ISBN: 0807825794
Publication Date: 2000-11-27
Nursing and technology have been inexorably linked since the beginnings of trained nursing in the United States in the late nineteenth century. Nurses have used a variety of tools, instruments, and machines--from thermometers to cardiac monitors--to appraise, treat, and comfort patients.

Cover Art
Medicine and Its Technology: An introduction to the history of medical instrumentation - Audrey B. Davis
Call Number: R856.A5 D38 1981 (Oversize stacks)
ISBN: 0313228078
Publication Date: 1981-11-25
vis /f Audrey /i B.

Cover Art
Biomedical Instrumentation and Measurements - Leslie Cromwell; Fred J. Wiebell; Erich A. Pfeiffer
Call Number: Reserve 3 Hour - Plaza Level R856 .C7 1980
ISBN: 0130764485
Publication Date: 1979-11-01

Medical electronic equipment, 1969-70 - Dummer, G & Robertson, J
Call Number: R856 .D78
ISBN: 0080069061
Publication Date: 1980

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip