Homer Babbidge Library
369 Fairfield Way, U-1005-RI
University of Connecticut,
Storrs, CT 06269-1005
Voice: (860) 486-1246
FAX: (860) 486-6100
Resources for the study of linguistics and linguists:
The MLA and the LLBA databases are essential for researching linguistics:
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) (1973 - current)
The premiere bibliography for linguistics scholarship, indexing journal articles, books, chapters, and book reviews, on all areas of linguistics, including including anthropological linguistics, applied linguistics, descriptive linguistics, discourse analysis, hearing and speech physiology, historical linguistics, interpersonal behavior, language classification, learning disabilities, lexicography, morphology, neurolinguistics, nonverbal communications, orthography, phonetics, phonology, psycholinguistics, psychometrics, second language acquisition, semantics, semiotics, sociolinguistics, special education, syntax, and typology.
- MLA International Bibliography of Language (1886 - current)
Indexes more than 6,000 national and international journals, as well as books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, bibliographies, and some websites. Subjects include applied linguistics, cereberal specialization, classical linguistics, descriptive linguistics, forensic linguistics, functional linguistics, neurolinguistics, psycholinguistcs, second language acquisition, semantics, semiotics, speech perception, structural linguistics, synchronic linguistics, syntax, and text linguistics.
Tutorials on using the MLA International Bibliography are available on YouTube and on the MLA Website.
The databases below have information on but are not solely devoted to linguistics.
- L'Année Philologique (1928 - present)
Indexes scholarship on the ancient Greek and Roman civilizations, including Greek and Latin literature and linguistics.
- BIOSIS Previews (1969 - present)
The premier database of world biology literature, and an important source for linguistics-related research, BIOSIS Previews contains citations to material on subjects such as dialectal variation, language acquisition, natural languages, second language proficiency, and speech recognition.
- Cambridge Collections Online (CCO)
The full texts of more than 2200 essays from the more than 200 Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion, and Culture.
- Communication and Mass Media Complete
Indexes over 700 journals, offering to articles on such subjects as Analogy, anaphora, anthropological linguistics, applied linguistics, areal linguistics, asymmetry, siolinguistics, classifiers, code switching, cohesion, comparative linguistics, deep structure, diglossia, field theory, forensic linguistics, gradience, historical linguistics, naturalness, neurolinguistics, psycholinguistics, semantics, sociolinguistics, and structuralism.
- INSPEC (1969 - present)
Indexing more than 4,200 journals and more than 2,000 conference proceedings, books, and reports, INSPEC contains citations to material on such subjects as computational linguistics, computer aided instruction, fuzzy set theories, grammars, language translation, natural language processing, speech processing, and speech recognition.
Contains the full-text of hundreds of important scholarly journals in many fields, including linguistics. JSTOR is rarely current: its most recent material will nearly always be 2 - 5 years old.
- Lexis/Nexis Academic
The full texts of US, Canadian, UK, and EU newpapers, newswires, law reviews, and legal journals, as well as Federal and State legal rulings. A subject search provides access to material on linguistics as the term is applied to such subjects as language and languages, customs and cultural heritage, education and training, science and technology, and trends and events.
- MathSciNet (1800s - present)
With more than 2,500,000 articles from over 400 journals, MathSciNet is helpful in the researching of such subject as natural language, semantics, and fuzzy set theories.
- Oxford Reference Online
The full texts of approximately 100 reference books published by the Oxford University Press, many of which contain articles on linguistics and its components.
- Project Muse
The full-text of several hundred important and essential scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences, including a number of linguistics journals. Project Muse titles are rarely more than 20 years old.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (1861 - present; full-text 1997 - present)
Indexes every doctoral dissertation completed in the U.S. at accredited institutions. Includes some master's theses and foreign language dissertations.
- PsycInfo (1872 - present)
Indexes more than 2400 scholarly journals as well as books, chapters, and dissertations with material on linguistics, plus material on such related subjects as cognitive science, discourse analysis, ethnolinguistics, etymology, grammar, language, metalinguistics, neurolinguistics, orthography, pragmatics, psycholinguistics, semiotics, sociolinguistics, and verbal communication.
- SCOPUS (1966 - current for general searching; 1996 - current for citation searching)
Indexes citations from approximately 5300 scholarly journals in the social sciences and arts and humanities.
- Sociological Abstracts (1963 - present)
Indexes more than 1800 scholarly journals, offering researchers material on communication, culture, dialects, etymology, grammar, language, language shift, language usage, phonetics, psycholinguistics, semantics, semiotics, signs, social anthropology, sociolinguistcs, speech, structuralism, translation, and verbal communication.
- SPIN (1975 - present)
Indexing articles from scholarly physical science journals published by the American Institute of Physics, its member societies, and other affiliated organizations, SPIN has material on such subjects as acoustic measurements, language structure, natural language, tone and vowel perception, and word recognition.
- American National Biography
More than 17,400 specially written biographical articles (often with illustrations) about deceased American men and women.
- Dictionary of Irish Biography
More than 9,000 specially written biographies of the men and women who made a significant contribution to Ireland, as well as those born overseas who had noteworthy careers in Ireland.
- Dictionary of National Biography (DNB)
Approximately 50,000 specially written biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's past, from the fourth century BC to the year 2000.
- Literature Resource Center
Provides biographical data on approximately 130,000 writers and creative figures from classical Greece to the present.