This is the "Home" page of the "Introduction to Human Rights Archival Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

University of Connecticut University Libraries

Introduction to Human Rights Archival Collections   Tags: human_rights  

This guide is designed for human rights classes and anyone interested in learning more about human rights primary sources at the Dodd Center.
Last Updated: Mar 7, 2013 URL: http://classguides.lib.uconn.edu/hr_archives Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Where are the Archives?

The Thomas J Dodd Research Center

UConn Libraries' Archives and Special Collections (ASC) at the Thomas J. Dodd Research Center. 


Our hours during the academic year are:

Monday-Friday 10 AM- 4 PM

Find out the latest news on our blog:  http://doddcenter.wordpress.com/

Vist the ASC Event's Calendar for the latest events!

Find us on Facebook!

The Dodd Center is across the plaza from Homer Babbidge Library and next to the Whetten Graduate Center.  Click here to find us on a map of campus.

Questions about Human Rights Collections? Contact Graham Stinnett

 

What are Archives?

First time visiting the archives?  No problem!


What kind of stuff is in the archives?


Our collections include manuscript materials (such as letters, diaries, photographs, meeting minutes) and selected published materials, including and specialized serials and book collections, and university records. The Collections by Subject page describes the Dodd Center's main areas of focus. 

Can I just come and look at items in the Dodd Center?


Yes and no.  We are open to students, faculty, staff, and the general public, but all of our materials must be used in the reading room between 10 am and 4 pm under the supervision of a reference archivist.  Unlike at Babbidge Library, our stacks are hidden, so you can't just browse through them. 

Instead, you tell the reference archivist what you want to look at, by providing either the collection name and box number or the call number and the archivist retreives the materials from the stacks and brings them out to you.

So, if I can't look in the stacks, how do I know what's there?


That's exactly what this guide is for!  We'll help you find materials for your research, and show you how to use our online finding aids (guides to the collections), and how to search for items in HOMER and on the Dodd Center's website.

First time visitors will need to register.  You can download the form and fill it out ahead of time, or simply come to the reference desk, and we'll give you the form then and go over everything you need to know!

 

Reading Room Ettiquette

What you can bring into the Reading Room:

  • Pencils
  • Scratch paper
  • Digital camera (without the case)
  • Laptop (without the case)

What you can NOT bring into the Reading Room:

  • Pens/Markers
  • Bags/Purses/Backpacks
  • Computer and digital camera cases
  • Briefcases
  • Coats/Outerwear
  • Umbrellas
  • Food
  • Beverages

Cell phones may not be used in the reading room, but may be kept on silent for timekeeping purposes.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip