New Books in HDFS
Comments (0)
eReference Books in the Social Sciences
Databases
- Academic OneFile
Scholarly journal articles and popular magazines covering all topics. A great database for beginning searches. 1980s-present (dates may vary). - Academic Search Premier
Scholarly journal articles and popular magazines covering all topics. A great database for beginning searches. 1980s-present (dates may vary). - AGELINE
Summarizes articles in social gerontology (the study of aging in psychological, health-related, social, and economic contexts). 1978 to present. - ERIC (via EBSCOhost) 1966+
Key education database provides citations and abstracts of articles from education journals (EJ) and from educational documents/reports (ED).
• Includes ERIC Digests, full text short reports providing an overview of educational topics (1982-2003).
• Provides links to access journal articles (EJ) in HTML Full Text or PDF Full Text or CSA/Sage Education for full text.
• Free-of-charge Education Documents (ED) from 1993+ are available in full text (Full Text from ERIC) for downloa - LexisNexis General
Full text of newspapers, wire services, radio and TV transcripts. - LGBT Life with Full Text
Covers gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender issues. Topics include civil liberties, culture, employment, family, history, psychology, religion, sociology and more. varies; some back to 1950s-current. - POPLINE
Summarzies scholarly articles in population, family planning, and related health issues. 1970-present. - PsycINFO
Scholarly articles in psychology, plus medicine, psychiatry, education, social work, criminology, social science, business, & organizational behavior. 1872-present. - PubMed
Scholarly journal articles about health and medicine, nursing, audiology, and biology. Includes entire MEDLINE via EBSCO database plus more than 1 million additional life sciences article citations that are not in MEDLINE via EBSCO. 1950s-current. - Scopus
Scholarly journal articles with a heavy emphasis on science topics. A great database for high quality scholarly articles on any topic. International scope. Excellent for citation searching. 1966-present. - Sociological Abstracts
Scholarly journal articles about sociology and other social and behavioral sciences. Includes culture & social structure; economic development; evaluation research; family & social welfare; management and complex organizations; policy planning. 1963-present. - Web of Science
Scholarly journal articles in the sciences, social sciences, arts & humanities. A great database for high quality scholarly articles on any topic. Excellent for citation searching. 1994- present. - Women's Studies International (Ebsco)
Core topics in women's studies as well as current topics in feminist research. Includes sociology, history, political science, public policy, business, and education. Indexes journals, newspapers, newsletters, books, proceedings, and dissertations. 1972-current.
Websites - Statistical Information
- AgingStats.gov

- America's Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being (Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics, 2009)
- An Aging World: 2001 (PDF)

- CDC National Center for Health Statistics

- GenderStats (World Bank)
GenderStats is a one stop source of information on gender at the country level and a compilation of data on key gender topics from national statistics agencies, United Nations databases, and World Bank-conducted or funded surveys. The database is continuously updated as new information becomes available. Data is organized by theme or region and it allows you to create your own queries. - NCJRS - National Criminal Justice Reference Service
This topical resource on Family Violence contains the following information: Facts and Figures – Includes the latest information and statistics. ... - State of the World's Children
closely examines a key issue affecting children. The report includes supporting data and statistics and is available in French and Spanish language versions - Statistical Abstract of the United States
Published since 1878, it is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web.
Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations. - U.S. Census Bureau - Age Data

Subject Guide |
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable. Contact Info University of Connecticut Homer Babbidge Library Level 1 369 Fairfield Way Unit 2005 RI Storrs, CT 06269-2005 Voice: 860.486.0843 Fax: 860.486.6100 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: Human Development & Family Studies |


Loading...
