This is the "Key Resources" page of the "Allied Health" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Allied Health  

Last Updated: Feb 3, 2016 URL: http://classguides.lib.uconn.edu/content.php?pid=80537 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Key Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Off Campus Access

To  access UConn Libraries' resources from off campus, go through the library website. When you click on a licensed resource, you will be prompted for your NetID.

Alternatively, you can use SkyBox. You will be prompted to login from the SkyBox homepage.

If you are having issues with your NetID, contact https://netid.uconn.edu/

Get items from other libraries

Order materials the UConn Libraries don't own--books, journal articles, and videos--via Document Delivery/Interlibrary Loan service. 

Most Used Health Databases

Though books provide foundational information about health and wellness, it is within journals that one can find the most up-to-date or comprehensive information about specific research questions. 

These top databases search the the titles and abstracts/summaries of articles from health journals.  A complete list of UConn databases is searchable by database name or subject area

  • PubMed  
      
    The best database for any health/medicine topic.
  • CINAHL
    A database named for its strengths; the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature.
  • Scopus  
      
    A broad science-based database, with unique strengths in rehabilitation and physical medicine.

Databases for Systematic Reviews

In addition to the most used databases, there are several other databases generally included in systematic reviews. There is a high amount of redundancy/duplication between all databases in this list; however, each database has unique content. Other databases not included in this list may also be appropriate for inclusion, depending on the topic of the review. A comprehensive search includes all possible databases and grey literature.

  • Cochrane Library
    Cochrane Systematic Reviews are in PubMed, but this database includes other unique evidence based content.
  • PsycInfo
    Psychology, psychiatry, and behavior. Consider when searching the mental aspects of exercise and sport.
  • Sociological Abstracts
    Sociology. Consider when searching the socioeconomic aspects of exercise and sport.
  • SPORTDiscus
    Several important sport-related journals are only in SportDiscus. This database specializes in sport-oriented content (e.g. athletic training, coaching, and news stand magazines).
  • Academic Search Premier
    A general academic database that covers all topics. Because of the broad reach of health in society, it may be useful to search this database, which does not focus specifically on medicine.

Books and Journals

 

Help

Need help finding information?

  • journals for a class paper
  • search criteria for a systematic review
  • correcting an erroneous citation
  • health statistics
  • etcetera...

Contact the Health Sciences Librarian

Jill Livingston

860.486.8303

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip