Online Collections
- Early American Newspapers (1690-1922) Digitally scanned newspapers from all 50 states. 1690-1922.
Microfilm: Early American Newspapers
Babbidge Library, Level 3, Babbidge Microfilm Research Collection
Microfilm reels are shelved together under the collection title, Early American Newspapers. Within the collection, microfilm reels are arranged first by place of publication (Connecticut), then by name of town or city (Hartford), then by newspaper title (Connecticut Courant).
Collection includes newspapers from Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Georgia, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New York, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Vermont, and Virginia published during the 18th and 19th centuries. Newspapers are reproduced in their entirety, enabling page-to-page reading.
View and print microfilm at Level 1 Microfilm readers/printers.
Microfilm: Index to Connecticut News in the Connecticut Courant
To search the Connecticut Courant 1764-1820, use the Index to Connecticut News in the Connecticut Courant, 1764-1820 on microfilm, shelved with the Early American Newspapers Collection under Connecticut, Hartford.
This index reproduces a card index from the Connecticut Historical Society. Search the Index by names and subjects arranged alphabetically to locate references to the newspaper.
Sample reference: 13 Ap01:25 = Courant issue of April 13, 1801, page 2, column 5.
Microfilm: Microfilm Collections: Harbottle Dorr Collection of Annotated Massachusetts Newspapers
Babbidge Library, Level 3, Babbidge Research Microfilm
Shelved by title.
Collection of Boston newspapers, including the Boston Evening-Post and Boston Gazette, archived by shopkeeper and selectman Harbottle Dorr. Feature his marginal notes and explanations as well as his index for each of the four volumes (reels). Newspapers are reproduced in their entirety.
For a list of the newspapers included in the Dorr Collection, use the Index to Harbottle Dorr Collection of Annotated Massachusetts Newspapers (1765-1776), available in print on the Babbidge Microform Research Guides Table, Level 3. Provides newspaper title, issue number, date of issue, number of pages, reel number, and page number assigned by Dorr and used on each roll.
Information About Early American Newspapers
- Early American Newspapers On 35mm Microfilm Level 3, Babbidge Microform Research Guides Table
- History and Bibliography of American Newspapers 1690-1820 Babbidge Reference / Z6951 .B86 Suppl.
Dodd / Gaines Ref 16 - Faces of Revolution: Personalities and Themes in the Struggle for American Independence For information about Harbottle Dorr and his annotated newspapers, see: Bailyn, Bernard. “The Index and Commentaries of Harbottle Dorr.”
Babbidge Library / E208 .B2 1990
Stamford Library / E208 .B2 1990
Subject Guide |
Steven BattResearch & Instruction Services
Homer Babbidge Library
486-6128
Send Email
Subjects:
Journalism, Political Science, Federal Documents
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait