This is the "Home" page of the "Kinesiology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

University of Connecticut University Libraries

Kinesiology  

Last Updated: Oct 17, 2014 URL: http://classguides.lib.uconn.edu/content.php?pid=59959 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Books and Journals

Document Delivery/Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Order materials the UConn Libraries don't own--books, journal articles, and videos

Most Used Kinesiology Databases

The databases below are those most used for kinesiology research.  There are many others that search journals as well as specialized types of information, including newspaper articles, business analysis, and images. A complete list of UConn databases is searchable by database name or subject area.

  • PubMed  
      
    The best database for kinesiology articles.
  • Scopus  
      
    Additional rehabilitation, physical medicine, and science journals.
  • SPORTDiscus
    Several important journals are only in SportDiscus. This database also contains more sport-oriented content (e.g. athletic training, coaching, and news stand magazines) than other listed databases.

Databases for Systematic Reviews

In addition to the most used databases, there are several other databases generally included in systematic reviews. There is a high amount of redundancy/duplication between all databases in this list; however, each database has unique content.  Other databases not included in this list may also be appropriate for inclusion, depending on the topic of the review. A comprehensive search includes all possible databases and grey literature.

  • CINAHL
    Known for nursing and allied health journals.
  • Cochrane Library
    Cochrane Systematic Reviews are in PubMed, but this database includes other unique evidence based content.
  • PsycInfo
    Psychology, psychiatry, and behavior. Consider when searching the mental aspects of exercise and sport.
  • Sociological Abstracts
    Sociology. Consider when searching the socioeconomic aspects of exercise and sport.
  • Cochrane Library
    The Cochrane Library includes the Database of Systematic Reviews (which is also part of PubMed), but also includes:
    -Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (Other Reviews)
    -Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (Clinical Trials)
    -Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews (Methods Reviews)
    -Cochrane Methodology Register (Methods Studies)
    -Health Technology Assessment Database (Technology Assessments)
    -NHS Economic Evaluation Database (Economic Evaluations)
 

Help

Need help finding information?

  • journals for a class paper
  • search criteria for a systematic review
  • correcting an erroneous citation
  • health statistics
  • etcetera...

Contact the Health Sciences Librarian

Jill Livingston

860.486.8303

Credit

Formatting for this guide was based on the Business (Storrs campus) guide by Shikha Sharma.

Thanks, Shikha

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip