Contents
- Where can I find Infrared or NMR or UV spectra?
- Where can I find information on a household chemical such as Raid?
- Where can I find the chemical name if I know the trade name of a compound?
- Where can I find information on pesticides?
- Where can I find information on Environmental Science?
- Where can I find information on the synthesis of an organic compound?
- Where can I find a named reaction?
- Where can I find information on the toxicity/hazards of a compound?
- Where can I find information on the physical/chemical properties of an inorganic/organic compound?
- Where can I find information about the physical properties of an industrial product?
- Where can I find information on polymers?
- I have the Registry Number of a compound, where can I find the name of the compound?
- I have the Chemical Abstracts Registry Number of a drug; where can I find information on this substance?
- I have the abbreviation of a science journal; how do I find the full title of the journal?
- I need the structure of a compound and need reaction information for this compound.
- Where can I find a patent for the synthesis and/or application of a particular compound?
- I have a scientific term for which I need a definition; where can I find it?
- I need to convert a temperature from 100 Centigrade to Fahrenheit; where can I find conversion factors?
- I am working with a chemical and need to know how to handle the chemical and what precautions I should take.
- Where can I find industrial processes for producing a chemical compound?
- Where can I find information on the preparation of a chemical compound for which I have the Registry Number?
FAQ
1. Where can I find Infrared or NMR or UV spectra?
Best Print Sources:
The Aldrich Library of Infrared Spectra Ref. QD 96 I5 P67 1981
The Aldrich Library of NMR Spectra Ref. QD 96 N8 P68 1983
Sadtler Standard Spectra (IR/NMR/UV) Level 2 / QC 453 S332
Best Online Source:
2. Where can I find information on a household chemical such as Raid?
Best Print Sources:
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology Ref. TP 9 E685 1991 / Ref. TP 9 K 54 2004 (v.1-6)
Household Safety Sourcebook Ref. TX 150 H68 2002
Chemistry of Hazardous Materials Level 2 / TH 9446 H38 M48 2005
Best Online Source:
ChemFinder.com
Toxnet –Household Chemicals
3. Where can I find the chemical name if I know the trade name of a compound?
Best Print Sources:
Brands and Their Companies Ref. T 223 V4 A22 22nd ed.
Gardner’s Chemical Synonyms and Trade Names Ref. TP 9 G 286 1999
Best Online Source:
4. Where can I find information on pesticides?
Best Print Sources:
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology Ref. TP 9 E685 1991 / Ref. TP 9 K 54 2004 (v.1-6)
Pesticide Residues in Food and Drinking Water: Human Exposure and Risks Level 2 / RA 1270 P4 P4823 2004
Best Online Source:
RSC Journals: Pesticide Outlook
5. Where can I find information on Environmental Science?
Best Online Source:
6. Where can I find information on the synthesis of an organic compound?
Best Print Source:
Organic Syntheses. Collective volume. Ref. QD 262 O72
Best Online Source:
7. Where can I find a named reaction?
Best Print Sources:
Organic Syntheses Based on Name Reactions Level 2 / QD 262 H324 2002
Name Reactions: A Collection of Detailed Reaction Mechanisms Ref. QD 291 L5 2003
8. Where can I find information on the toxicity/hazards of a compound?
Best Print Source:
The Merck Index: An Encyclopedia Of Chemicals, Drugs, and Biologicals Ref. Desk / Ref. RS 51 M4 2001
Best Online Sources:
ChemFinder.com
MSDS Sheets (Material Safety Data Sheets)
TOXNET
9. Where can I find information on the physical/chemical properties of an inorganic/organic compound?
Best Print Sources:
CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics Ref. Desk / Ref. QD 65 H3
JANAF Thermochemical Tables Ref. QD 511 D6 1986
Best Online Sources:
10. Where can I find information about the physical properties of an industrial product?
Best Print Source:
Lange's Handbook of Chemistry Ref. Desk / Ref. QD 65 L36
11. Where can I find information on polymers?
Best Print Source:
Polymer Handbook Ref. QD 388 P65 1999
12. I have the Registry Number of a compound, where can I find the name of the compound?
Best Print Sources:
The Merck Index Ref. Desk / Ref. RS 51 M4 2001
Dictionary of Organic Compounds Ref. QD 246 D5 1996
Dictionary of Inorganic Compounds Ref. QD 148 D53 1992
Dictionary of Organometallic Compounds Ref. QD 411 D53 1995
Best Online Source:
13. I have the Chemical Abstracts Registry Number of a drug; where can I find information on this substance?
Best Print Source:
The Merck Index: An Encyclopedia Of Chemicals, Drugs, and Biologicals Ref. Desk / Ref. RS 51 M4 2001
Best Online Sources:
SciFinder Scholar
PubMed –National Library of Medicine (NLM)
14. I have the abbreviation of a science journal; how do I find the full title of the journal?
Best Print Sources:
CASSI (Chemical Abstracts Service Source Index) Ref. Desk / Ref. QD 1 C44
Ulrich’s International Periodicals Directory Ref. Desk / Ref. Z 6941 U5
Best Online Sources:
PubMed
Ulrich’s International Periodicals Directory
15. I need the structure of a compound and need reaction information for this compound.
Best Print Sources:
Chemical Abstracts 1907+ Ref. QD 1 A 51 - Best source for compounds appearing in the literature prior to 1966.
Best Online Sources:
ChemFinder.com - Adequate for common compounds.
Beilstein CrossFire Plus Reactions - Provides detailed information on organic compounds with accompanying structure.
SciFinder Scholar
16. Where can I find a patent for the synthesis and/or application of a particular compound?
Best Print Sources:
Chemical Abstracts 1907+ Ref. QD 1 A 51
The Merck Index Ref. Desk / Ref. RS 51 M4 2001
Best Online Sources:
SciFinder Scholar
U. S. Patent and Trademark Office
17. I have a scientific term for which I need a definition; where can I find it?
Best Print Sources:
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics Ref. Desk / Ref. QD 65 H3
Lange’s Handbook of Chemistry Ref. Desk / Ref. QD 65 L36
18. I need to convert a temperature from 100 Centigrade to Fahrenheit; where can I find conversion factors?
Best Print Source:
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics Ref. Desk / Ref. QD 65 H3
Best Online Source:
19. I am working with a chemical and need to know how to handle the chemical and what precautions I should take.
Best Print Sources:
Hazardous Chemicals Desk Reference Ref. T 55.3 H3 L49 1997
Handbook of Industrial Toxicology and Hazardous Materials Ref. RA 1229 C472 1999
Dangerous Properties of Industrial and Consumer Materials Pharmacy Library / Ref. T 55.3 H3 L15 1994
Bretherick’s Handbook of Reactive Chemical Hazards: An Indexed Guide to Published Data vols. 1-2 Ref. T 55.3 H3 B73 1999
Best Online Source:
20. Where can I find industrial processes for producing a chemical compound?
Best Print Source:
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology Ref. TP 9 E685 1991 / Ref TP 9 K54 2004 (v.1-6)
21. Where can I find information on the preparation of a chemical compound for which I have the Registry Number?
Best Online Sources:
ChemFinder.com - Adequate for common compounds.
Beilstein CrossFire Plus Reactions - Organic compounds only; provides detailed information on organic compounds with accompanying structure.
SciFinder Scholar
Landolt-Börstein Online Index
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait