This is the "Online Resources" page of the "African-American Literature" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

University of Connecticut University Libraries

African-American Literature  

The following sources are intended to enable researchers to locate work by and about African American authors. This is a selective list; many additional sources also contain significant information and should also be used
Last Updated: Jul 20, 2009 URL: http://classguides.lib.uconn.edu/content.php?pid=55255 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Online Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Databases

  • ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature)
    List books, monographs, journal articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world. 1920-current.
  • Academic OneFile
    Scholarly journal articles and popular magazines covering all topics. A great database for beginning searches. 1980s-present (dates may vary).
  • Academic Search Premier
    Scholarly journal articles and popular magazines covering all topics. A great database for beginning searches. 1980s-present (dates may vary).
  • American Periodical Series, 1740-1900
    Digitized images of over 1,000 American magazines and journals published between 1741-1900. Titles range from the scientific journal Medical Repository to Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal. 1740-1900.
  • Early American Newspapers, 1690-1922
    Digitally scanned newspapers from all 50 states. 1690-1922.
  • Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans
    Full-text of over 37,000 books, pamphlets and broadsides. Provides information about life in 17th- and 18th-century America, such as agriculture, foreign affairs, literature, music, philosophy, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, and witchcraft. 1639-1800.
  • Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker
    Full-text of over 36,000 American books, pamphlets and broadsides covering the political, social, cultural and geographic growth of the United States. Covers abolitionism, arts and literature, economic, religious, and scientific thought, and more. 1801-1819.
  • Literature Resource Center
    Biographical essays on more than 100,000 authors and criticism and interpretation of plays, novels, poetry and short stories.
  • MLA International Bibliography
    Scholarly articles in literature and linguistics. Indexes over 6,000 national and international journals, as well as books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. From the Modern Language Association. 1926-current; selective coverage 1886-.
  • Readers' Guide Retrospective
    The most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States. 1890-1982.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Richard Bleiler
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip