This is the "Online Resources" page of the "African-American History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

University of Connecticut University Libraries

African-American History  

The following sources are intended to enable researchers to locate information on African-American history. This is a selective list; many additional sources also contain significant information and should also be used.
Last Updated: Jul 20, 2009 URL: http://classguides.lib.uconn.edu/content.php?pid=54918 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Online Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Databases

  • Academic OneFile
    Scholarly journal articles and popular magazines covering all topics. A great database for beginning searches. 1980s-present (dates may vary).
  • Academic Search Premier
    Scholarly journal articles and popular magazines covering all topics. A great database for beginning searches. 1980s-present (dates may vary).
  • America: History and Life
    Summarizes scholarly articles about the history of the United States and Canada. 1964-current.
  • Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans
    Full-text of over 37,000 books, pamphlets and broadsides. Provides information about life in 17th- and 18th-century America, such as agriculture, foreign affairs, literature, music, philosophy, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, and witchcraft. 1639-1800.
  • Oxford African American Studies Center
    Over 7,500 scholarly encyclopedia articles, from titles like the Encyclopedia of African American History, the Encyclopedia of African American History, Black Women in America, and the African American National Biography.
  • New York Times Historical
    Full-image archive of The New York Times. Includes the full-text of everything published in the newspaper. 1851 to 2 years ago.
  • PsycINFO
    Scholarly articles in psychology, plus medicine, psychiatry, education, social work, criminology, social science, business, & organizational behavior. 1872-present.
  • Reader's Guide Retrospective
    The most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States. 1890-1982.
  • Sociological Abstracts
    Scholarly journal articles about sociology and other social and behavioral sciences. Includes culture & social structure; economic development; evaluation research; family & social welfare; management and complex organizations; policy planning. 1963-present.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Social Sciences Team
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip