This is the "General Indexing & Abstracting" page of the "Art & Architecture, Modern-Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

University of Connecticut University Libraries

Art & Architecture, Modern-Research Guide  

Last Updated: Nov 4, 2010 URL: http://classguides.lib.uconn.edu/content.php?pid=53943 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

General Indexing & Abstracting Print Page
  Search: 
 

Sources

ABM, ARTbibliographies Modern (annual 1969-1971; semi-annual 1972+)
Print: Art Ref. Z 5935 L64
The most comprehensive multilingual indexing and abstracting source for modern art of the 20th century. Subject coverage starts at 1900 (except for photography which is covered from its invention). Also covers art of the late 19th century insofar as it has importance for the art of the 20th century. Artists and movements whose output overlaps the year 1900, and those whose work represents the roots of 20th century art, and without which the latter cannot be fully studied, are also included. Within the period outlined the aim is to cover all aspects of art, design and photography. Entries are arranged within a single alphabetical sequence containing both subjects and the names of artists, artists’ groups, collectors and critics. Provides access to periodical articles, books, dissertations, exhibition catalogues, and essays from books or exhibition catalogues which are sufficiently important to have been assigned a separate entry. Note especially the listing of Classification Headings at the beginning of each volume and list of journals abstracted.

Art Abstracts and Art Index Retrospective
Online Database: Art Abstracts and Art Index Retrospective
Abstracts August 1984+ Art Index Retrospective 1929-1984
Provides references from academic and mostly English language general interest journals.
Print: Art Ref. Z 5937 A78
[1929-1993; 41 volumes] Art Abstracts includes Art Index and represent more than simply a title change; includes abstracts of articles. Indexes approximately 270 primarily English language journals. Also covers yearbooks, and museum bulletins published worldwide. Author and subject entries are listed in one alphabet. The paper product lists citations to book reviews following the main body of the Index. Subject areas indexed include architecture, art history, criticism, graphic arts, interior and industrial design and related fields.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Online Database: Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals [1934+; Updated daily]
Print: Level A Oversize / Z 5945 C649 [Biennial supplements 1973-1984; annual supplements 1985-1997/no longer published in print.]
Index begun in 1934 with an aim of comprehending architecture in its widest sense. The most comprehensive international architecture index, covering more than 1,000 architecture and related journals and periodicals. Endeavors to provide a name-entry whenever an architect is recorded in an article. No consistent name authority in citations, therefore it is necessary to search under variant forms of a name to find all citations related to an architect. Includes selected book reviews.

*Bibliography of the History of Art/Bibliographie d’Histoire de l’Art (BHA) [1991-1999]
Continues RILA (see below)**
Art Ref. Z 5937 B53
Most comprehensive index and abstract source for current publications in the history of art. Covers many types of publications: books, journal articles, conference proceedings, Festschriften, and collected essays and dissertations in all Western languages. Reviews of books and exhibitions, obituaries, interviews, and published lectures are included. Contents are arranged by broad fields of study by period and medium or artist/architect. Citations are numbered. Full citations occur only once, in the section most appropriate to the item; citations in other sections refer to the full citation by the use of arrows to the number of the full citation. Note period sub-headings: “1800-1945” and “1945-2000”

Burnham Index to Architectural Literature [10 volumes]
Art Ref. NA 705 B87 1989 [Begun in 1919, discontinued in mid-1960s.]
Index is based on the Burnham Library of Architecture at the Art Institute of Chicago. Complements the Avery Index but differs from it in several ways. Substantial emphasis on Midwestern materials. Overlap with titles included in the Avery Index is 3% before 1934 and 30% after that date. Three-quarters of the titles are not indexed elsewhere. Extremely idiosyncratic, but very useful. Basic arrangement is geographic, but there is no consistent name authority work in the creation of the index.

Design and Applied Arts Index [1987-2001]
Art Ref. NK 1160 D45
Comprehensive international index to current design and design related journals. Criterion for inclusion is research and current interest value. Includes long and short articles; news items; conferences and seminar reports; reviews of books, videos, films and exhibitions; obituary notices and illustrations. Arranged in a single alphabetical sequence with many cross references.

**International Repertory of the Literature of Art; Repertoire International De La Litterature de l’Art (RILA) [1975-1989]
Continued by BHA (see above)*
Art Ref. Z 5937 R16
See description for BHA above. Note period sub-headings: “Neo-Classicism and Modern Art (late 18th Century to 1945)” and “Modern Art (1945 to present)”. Also note “Collections and Exhibitions” sub-headings.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Michael Young
Contact Info
Art and Design Library, Level 2, Babbidge Library
860-486-4953
Send Email

Online Reference Books

  • ebooks
    Access to UConn Libraries Online Reference Books (ebooks) in Art and Architecture
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip