This is the "Finding Articles" page of the "Research QuickStart" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Research QuickStart  

Guides you through the research process, including selecting a topic, using Google Scholar, finding resources, reading citations, and creating a bibliography.
Last Updated: Mar 27, 2017 URL: http://classguides.lib.uconn.edu/research Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Finding Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Finding Articles

Use the Databases link on the Library's homepage to find journal articles - select the subject that matches your topic. The category General includes interdisciplinary databases that cover all topics.

Which database should I choose for my topic?

This is a common question since there are so many databases. Here are some tips:

  • Choose a multidisciplinary, full text database (under General in the Database Locator) like Academic Search Premier. If you don't find enough articles, you may want to search a subject-based database.
  • Look at the Guides listed on the Getting Started tab. These may help you choose a database based on your topic or subject.
  • Librarians can suggest databases for your topic. Contact us by chat, email, text, phone or in person.
 

Retrieving Articles

 If there is no PDF or HTML link to the full text in the database you are using, use UConn Full Text. UConn Full Text can locate online full text when available or the print version of an article or book/chapter. It also makes it easy to request materials the UConn Libraries does not have. Look for the icon or the words "UConn Full Text" in the database record of the item you are interested in. Click the icon/link and follow the steps provided.

 

Selecting Keywords

Getting started is often the most challenging part of the research process. Keep in mind that conducting research is often more time-consuming than you think! It will probably require that you create multiple searches to find the information that you need, in the same way that you will be expected to write various drafts of a paper.

Once you have a topic, the next step is to think of keywords before you begin searching.

Keyword brainstorming ideas:

  • Think of words (or phrases) that describe your topic--e.g. names, places, dates, concepts, procedures, events.
  • Think of synonyms and terms related to these words/phrases.
  • Choose the 2 or 3 words or phrases which best describe your topic.

Begin Searching

Using these initial keywords/phrases, search 'by keyword'. Since you have taken the time to choose your keywords wisely, your initial searches will most likely provide some results relevant to your topic.

Need more good sources? Refine your search...

To find more descriptive keywords that you haven't thought of, identify a few particulary useful results from your initial searches and

  • Click the book or article title for more information.
  • Look at the subjects listed in the records.
  • Look at the abstract and first few paragraphs of articles.

Now try searching again using the keywords, terms and phrases that better describe your topic, perhaps in combination with some of those on your initial list. This technique helps you refine your searches to yield even more relevant results, and you'll have the books and articles you need for your paper.

 

Finding Newspaper Articles

If you just want to focus on newspapers, consider the following databases:

Newspapers Through ProQuest

  • Hartford Courant, 1992 -present;
  • New York Times, 1980-present;
  • Wall Street Journal, 1984-present;
  • Christian Science Monitor, 1988-present;
  • Washington Post, 1987-present

LexisNexis News Full-text for thousands of national/international newspapers and "trade" magazines (such as AutoWeek and Marketwire)

ProQuest Historical Newspapers

  • American Periodical Series, 1740-1900;
  • Boston Globe, 1872-1983;
  • Chicago Tribune, 1849-1991;
  • Hartford Courant, 1764-1989;
  • Los Angeles Times, 1881-1991;
  • New York Amsterdam News, 1922-1993;
  • New York Times, 1851-2010;
  • Times of India, 1838-2005;
  • Wall Street Journal, 1889-1996

View all newspaper databases here or from the Database Locator, choose Newspapers from the bottom horizontal list.

 

 

You Don't Have the Article I Need!

The library provides a free service for currently enrolled students, faculty, and staff called Document Delivery / Interlibrary Loan (DD/ILL).

Log in with your UConn NetID, fill out the form, and we will try to track down a copy of the article you are looking for.

Articles are scanned and made available to you in PDF and usually arrive within 2-4 days.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip