This is the "Home" page of the "Connecticut History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

University of Connecticut University Libraries

Connecticut History  

The Connecticut History Research Guide provides information about how to find books, journals, articles, databases, films, and archival collections and also offers some tips for beginning research assignments.
Last Updated: Mar 22, 2013 URL: http://classguides.lib.uconn.edu/content.php?pid=31920 Print Guide Email Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Resource Guide

The University of Connecticut Libraries "Connecticut History Subject Guide" is a comprehensive listing of pertinent:

NOTE:
Before you access the Libraries' Homepage, Databases, or Electronic Journals be sure to log into the Virtual Private Network (VPN).  This will allow you to view online books found in HOMER (our catalog) and the full text articles from our many databases.  You will need to log in with your netID and password.  If you do not know your netID go to NetID.uconn.edu

 

Connecticut's History

Connecticut, as described by State Historian and UConn Assistant Professor of History Walter Woodward, is "rich in heritages and histories, and has been integral to the American story throughout the life span of the country." The state has, at one time or another, been a leader in the nation's commercial, cultural, educational, financial, industrial, military, political, religious, and technological enterprises and research can easily involve one or more of those topical areas.

An extract from a list of "Connecticut firsts", provided by the State of Connecticut's web site, suggests a number of subjects which might invite further investigation and is clearly "the tip of the iceberg" when thesis topics are being developed:

1639 -- first constitution adopted, establishing representative government
1764 -- first newspaper, The Hartford Courant,  published since October 29, 1764
1775 -- first submarine
1783 -- first dictionary, published by Noah Webster
1784 -- first law school in America, Litchfield Law School
1788 -- first State House in America
1794 -- first cotton gin:  Eli Whitney
1806 -- first planned factory town in America: in Seymour
1808 -- first movable parts mass production in use: making clocks
1810 -- first insurance company, The Hartford   
1819 -- first industrial training school: in Derby
1836 -- first revolver
1842 -- first public art museum
1843 -- first portable typewriter
1844 -- first use of anesthesia
1846 -- first practical sewing machine: Elias Howe
1877 -- first telephone exchange, established in Bridgeport
1900 -- first submarine
1907 -- first permanent public planning body in America: Hartford
1920 -- first Frisbee:  Yale students
1933 -- first vacuum cleaner
1939 -- first FM radio station, WDRC-FM
1939 -- first successful helicopter in the Western Hemisphere
1948 -- first color television
1949 -- first UHF television station to operate on a daily basis: KC2XAK in Bridgeport
1954 -- first nuclear submarine, launched in New London
1982 -- first artificial heart: Dr. Robert K. Jarvik, a Stamford native
        

The resources of the University of Connecticut are well suited for research activities concerning the state's history. The collections of the Homer Babbidge Library provide large numbers of books, government documents and journals which focus either on Connecticut or contain information about about the state.  Hundreds of research databases and thousands of electronic journals open avenues to a broad based information universe.  The Dodd Research Center, home to the University's own archives, also contains a wide array of original source materials related to our state's history including personal papers, diaries, photographs, business records, and copies of historic books and journals, provides unique materials not found elsewhere.




 

Library Liaison for Connecticut History

Profile Image
William Uricchio
Contact Info
UConn Greater Hartford Campus Library
1800 Asylum Avenue
West Hartford, Connecticut 06117

Voice: 860-570-9028
Fax: 860-570-9027
Send Email

About Your Librarian

Profile Image
Janice Mathews
Contact Info
Trecker Library
Greater Hartford Campus
1800 Asylum Ave.
West Hartford, CT 06117
(860) 570-9105
Send Email
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip