Dictionaries
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Latino Popular Culture - Cordelia Chávez Candelaria, executive editor
Call Number: REF E184.S75 E59 2004
ISBN/ISSN: 0313322155
This comprehensive encyclopedia covers Latina and Latino popular culture, past and present, in the U.S.-music, art, food, religion, literature, movies and television, theater, holiday customs, organizations, sports, politics, and much more....This outstanding, up-to-date resource is a must-buy for all libraries that serve Latino populations.
—School Library Journal June 2005
Oxford encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States - edited by Suzanne Oboler and Deena J. González
Call Number: ONLINE eBook
This landmark scholarly work offers comprehensive, reliable, and accessible information about the fastest growing minority population in the United States. With an unprecedented scope and cutting-edge scholarship, the Encyclopedia draws together the diverse historical and contemporary experiences in the United States of Latinos and Latinas from Mexico, Puerto Rico, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Central America, South America, Europe, Asia, and the Middle East. Over 900 A-to-Z articles written by academics, scholars, writers, artists, and journalists, address such broad topics as identity, art, politics, religion, education, health, and history. The Encyclopedia fills a void in the historical scholarship of an underserved population.
Latinas in the United States: a historical encyclopedia - edited by Vicki L. Ruiz and Virginia Sánchez Korrol
In their introduction to this three-volume A-to-Z encyclopedia, editors Vicki L. Ruiz and Virginia Sanchez Korrol define Latinas as “an umbrella term that refers to all women of Latin American birth or heritage, including women from North, Central and South America and the Spanish-speaking Caribbean.” This compendium covers Latinas in the United States from the 16th century to the present, including not only Latina biographies – 600 of them – but also related events and topics ranging from the Communist Party, the El Paso Laundry Strike and the Friendly House of Phoenix, Arizona, to street vending, World War II and West Side Story.
Search the Catalog
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait