Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Puerto Rican & Latino Studies 

This guide offers you useful information on how to find and search for books, journals and other resources for Puerto Rican & Latino Studies
Last update: Oct 16th, 2009 URL: http://classguides.lib.uconn.edu/PRLatino  Print Guide  RSS Updates Email Alerts

Databases             Print Page
  

Plagarism-What is it and how to avoid it?

  • Avoiding Plagiarism  
    Plagiarism occurs when "a writer deliberately uses someone else’s language, ideas, or other original (not common-knowledge) material without acknowledg­ing its source." Don't be one of those people! Learn how to avoid making that mistake in your paper!
 

Puerto Rican and Latino Studies Selected Sources

Recommended Newspapers &  Journals Databases and Online Reference Materials for Latino Studies

When searching in these databases keep this in mind:

  • Try different search terms both in English and Spanish to find articles about Latinos in the US
    • Ex. Latino(s), Latina(s), Hispanic American, Puerto Rican, Mexican American, Chicano, Cuban American, and other appropiate nationalities.
    • Remember that in Spanish, Latino may also refers to the Latin language and Hispanic to Spain and Spanish language
    • Always try more than one strategy to increase success in your research
  • Academic Search Premier (General Social Sciences & Humanities, some Sciences)  
    Scholarly journal articles, newspaper articles and popular magazines covering all topics. A great database for beginning searches. 1980s-present (dates may vary).
  • ERIC (Education)  
      
    Indexes scholarly journals and magazines in all areas of education, from early intervention (birth to age three), preschool, K-12 (public and private), and higher education. Includes bilingual, special, gifted, and computer education. 1966-present.
  • JSTOR (Social Sciences and Humanities)  
      
    Essential scholarly journals in many academic fields, especially arts, literature, humanities, and biology. Some back to early 1900s; most recent 2-5 years not available. Most Latin American, Caribbean and Latino Studies journals are found here.
  • Handbook of Latin American Studies (Social Sciences and Humanities)  
      
    he Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the human
  • HAPI (Mostly Social Sciences, some Humanities)  
      
    Summarizes articles about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States. International scope. 1970-current. Most articles are in Spanish.
  • LexisNexis News (Newspapers and Magazines)  
      
    Full text news articles on Latinos in the news are available in these database
  • PsycINFO (Psychology and related Social and Medical Sciences)  
      
    Scholarly articles in psychology, plus medicine, psychiatry, education, social work, criminology, social science, business, & organizational behavior. 1872-present
  • PubMed (Health and Allied Sciences)  
      
    Scholarly journal articles about health and medicine, nursing, audiology, and biology. Includes entire MEDLINE via EBSCO database plus more than 1 million additional life sciences article citations that are not in MEDLINE via EBSCO. 1950s-current.
 
 

Economic Data Resources

For Consumer Information about Hispanic American/Latinos visit this Research Guide:

Marketing and check the tab "Consumer" by Shikha Sharma, Liaison Librarian for Business. This guide have several links to databases dealing with consumer data. One that we recommend is Global Market Information Database. When searching use the term Hispanic American or Hispanic to search for consumer information and even go a little more granular and used term such as Mexican and Puerto Rican. The term Latino is not as widely used as Hispanic for consumer and marketing data.

 

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait