Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Human Rights Resources  Tags: human_rights research rights  

The Human Rights Research Guide provides information about how to find human rights books, journals, articles, databases, films, and archival collections.
Last update: Nov 12th, 2009 URL: http://classguides.lib.uconn.edu/humanrights  Print Guide  RSS Updates Email Alerts

Country Studies             Print Page
  
 

Regional Databases

Africa Resources

Struggles for Freedom in Southern Africa (Aluka)  Documents and images related to Southern African countries, including periodicals, newspapers, records of colonial government commissions, correspondence, UN documents, out-of-print books, oral testimonies, life histories, and speeches.

World Bank Africa Database Contains over 1,200 indicators of macro-economic and social data for 53 African countries and 20 country groups, and year-by-year time series. 1970-2005.

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)  Articles and reports on international affairs. Includes scholarly articles, papers from university research institutes and non-governmental organizations, foundation-funded research projects, and conference proceedings. 1991 - current.

PAIS International  Summaries articles in political, economic, and social issues. Covers the public and social policy literature of business, economics, finance, law, international relations, public administration, government, and political science. 1915-current.

 

 

Resources on Europe

 
 

Country Studies Websites

  • U.S. Department of State Background Notes
  • Country Reports on Human Rights Practices, U.S. Dept. of State
  • CIA World Factbook
  • CEDAW Country Reports
  • Library of Congress Country Studies
  • NationMaster: Countries: Combines authoritative data from many online sources including the CIA World Factbook, United Nations, World Health Organization, World Bank, World Resources Institute, UNESCO, UNICEF and OECD, and allows for statistical comparisons and downloads.
  • World Health Organization (WHO) Countries

  •  

    Asia Resources

    Resources on Asia

    Encyclopedia of Modern Asia  Articles on modern Asia from a global perspective. Historical articles emphasize people, places, events, and developments that have had a lasting influence on Asia. 2002.

    Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)  Articles and reports on international affairs. Includes scholarly articles, papers from university research institutes and non-governmental organizations, foundation-funded research projects, and conference proceedings. 1991 - current.

    PAIS International  Summaries articles in political, economic, and social issues. Covers the public and social policy literature of business, economics, finance, law, international relations, public administration, government, and political science. 1915-current.

     

    Latin America

    Resources on Latin America  (see also Marisol Ramos' LibGuide on Latin American and Carribean Resources)

    Latin America Data Base  Weekly newsletters covering Latin American political and economic affairs. Current titles are NotiSur (South America), SourceMex (Mexico), NotiCen (Central America). 1986-present.

    Latin American Newsstand Full-text of over 40 Latin-American newspapers and newswires covering international and Latin-American regional topics.

    HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index)  Summarizes articles about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States. International scope. 1970-current.

    Handbook of Latin American Studies Annotated bibliography of articles in the humanities and social sciences 1935-present.

     

    Subject Guide

    Profile ImageValerie Love
     
    Description

      Loading content... please wait