Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Human Rights Resources  Tags: human_rights research rights  

The Human Rights Research Guide provides information about how to find human rights books, journals, articles, databases, films, and archival collections.
Last update: Nov 12th, 2009 URL: http://classguides.lib.uconn.edu/humanrights  Print Guide  RSS Updates Email Alerts

United Nations Sources             Print Page
  
 

Universal Declaration of Human Rights (UDHR)

Text of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, 1948

Universal Declaration of Human Rights Historical Record of the Drafting Process

 

UN Treaties

United Nations Treaty Collection -- Information on the status of over 500 major multilateral instruments deposited with the Secretary-General of the United Nations and covers a range of subject matter such as Human Rights, Disarmament, Commodities, Refugees, the Environment and the Law of the Sea.

Human Rights Treaties -- Provides information on the status of treaties including:

Convention on the Prevention and Punishment of the Crime of Genocide.   New York, 9 December 1948

International Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Racial Discrimination.   New York, 7 March 1966

International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights.   New York, 16 December 1966

International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights.   New York, 16 December 1966

Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women.   New York, 18 December 1979

Convention against Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment.   New York, 10 December 1984

Convention on the Rights of the Child.   New York, 20 November 1989

International Convention on the Protection of the Rights of All Migrant Workers and Members of their Families.   New York, 18 December 1990

Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities.   New York, 13 December 2006

International Convention for the Protection of All Persons from Enforced Disappearance.   New York, 20 December 2006

 

Women's Rights

Convention on the Elimination of all forms of Discrimination Against Women (CEDAW)

Current CEDAW Website

Previous CEDAW Website (prior to January 2008)

CEDAW Country Reports -- prior to 2007, alphabetical by country

CEDAW Committee Reports -- 1986 to the present

Issues in Focus Reports, Special Rapporteur on Violence Against Women

 

Children's Rights

UNICEF -- United Nations Children's Fund

UNICEF Information by Country -- Provides information by region, as well as by individual country

UNICEF Website on the Convention of the Rights of the Child (CRC)

UN High Commissioner for Human Rights Website on the CRC

UNICEF ChildInfo

 
 

UN High Commissioner for Human Rights (UNHCR) Resources

United Nations Human Rights Website

Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights -- The Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR) represents the world's commitment to universal ideals of human dignity. We have a unique mandate from the international community to promote and protect all human rights.

United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights, International Law

Document Guides for UN Human Rights Committees

 

UNHCR-- The UN Refugee Agency

UNHCR -- UN High Commission on Refugees

RefWorld -- Refworld is the leading source of information necessary for taking quality decisions on refugee status. Refworld contains a vast collection of reports relating to situations in countries of origin, policy documents and positions, and documents relating to international and national legal frameworks.

Publications by the UNHCR -- Includes links to Refugees Magazine, The State of the World's Refugees, and other publications.

 

UNBIS

UNBISnet -- Catalogue of United Nations (UN) documents and publications indexed by the UN Dag Hammarskjold Library and the Library of the UN Office at Geneva.

 

 

UN Resources General

Human Development Reports, United Nations Development Programme

United Nations: Human Rights Documentation Research Guide

UN System Pathfinder: Human Rights

 

Guides to UN Resources from Other Institutions

For the Record: the UN Human Rights System A country-by-country overview of human rights issues with links to relevant UN documents, from HRI, Human Rights Internet.

Yale University's Internet Access to UN Information

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait