Databases for Human Rights
What kind of research is found in databases? |
|
| "Popular" communication ~ informs and entertains the general public through articles in magazines and newspapers. Magazines like Newsweek, Ms., and off our backs are examples of popular sources. | Scholarly communication ~ disseminates research and academic discussion among professionals within disciplines through scholarly and peer-reviewed journals and books/book chapters. Journals such as Feminism and Psychology and Journal of Gender Studies are examples of scholarly sources. |
| If there is no PDF or HTML link to the full text in the database you are using, use UConn Links. It can locate online full text or the print version of an article or book/chapter. It also makes it easy to request materials the UConn Library does not have. Look for the icon or the words "UConn Links" in the database record of the item you are interested in. Click the icon or link and follow the steps provided. |
Need journal articles on Human Rights? Start with these databases:
- Gale Academic Onefile (formerly InfoTrac)
Includes most disciplines (multidisciplinary) with good coverage of both popular and scholarly publications. - Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
Articles and reports on international affairs. Includes scholarly articles, papers from university research institutes and non-governmental organizations, foundation-funded research projects, and conference proceedings. - PAIS International
Summaries articles in political, economic, and social issues. Covers the public and social policy literature of business, economics, finance, law, international relations, public administration, government, and political science. -
World Development Indicators (WDI)
Provides statistics on the economies of over 200 developing countries, including time series data on agriculture, manufacturing, health indicators, education, natural resources, and foreign investment. From the World Bank World Development Indicators. 1960s-current.
Recommended Databases for Human Rights (General)
Recommended Databases for General Human Rights Topics
Poverty, Economic Issues, Labor, Fair Trade
Recommended Databases for Poverty, Economic Issues, Labor, Fair Trade
War, Conflict, and Terror
Recommended Databases for War, Conflict and Terror
Health
Recommended Databases for Health Issues
Gender and Sexuality
Recommeded Databases for Gender and Sexuality
- Women’s Studies International
- Sociological Abstracts
- PsycInfo
- LGBT Life with Full Text
- Academic Search Premier
- Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) through "Web of Science"
- Defining Gender 1450 - 1910
- New York Times Historical
- CQ Researcher
- Alternative Press Index
- Criminology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection
- Women and Social Movements in the United States
- ABI/Inform Global
- Issues & Controversies@Facts.com
Race and Ethnicity
Recommeded Databases for Race and Ethnicity
- HRAF Collection of Ethnography
- Sociological Abstracts
- PsycInfo
- Academic Search Premier
- Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) through "Web of Science"
- Alternative Press Index
- CQ Researcher
- ABI/Inform Global
- ICPSR - Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research
- Anthropological Literature
Education
Recommended Databases for Human Rights and Education
Environment and Human Rights
Recommended Databases for Human Rights and the Environment
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait