Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Spanish 

This guide offers you useful information on how to find and search for books, journals and other resources for Spanish
Last update: Oct 20th, 2009 URL: http://classguides.lib.uconn.edu/Spanish  Print Guide  RSS Updates Email Alerts

Spain/Spanish             Print Page
  
 

Spanish Literature (Spain, Latin American & the Caribbean)

  • The Cambridge History of Spanish Literature - David T. Gies (Editor)
    ISBN/ISSN: 0521738695
    The essays [found in this source] cover the full range of Spanish poetry, prose, and theater from the early Middle Ages to the present day [2004].
  • The Cambridge History of Latin American Literature - Roberto González Echevarría and Enrique Pupo-Walker
    ISBN/ISSN: 0521340691
    The source covers the whole sweep of Latin American literature (including Brazilian) from pre-Columbian times to the present, and contain chapters on Latin American writing in the USA.
  • The Cambridge History of African and Caribbean Literature - F. Abiola Irele and Simon Gikandi
    ISBN/ISSN: 0521594340
    his history offers new perspectives on African and Caribbean literature. It provides the general coverage and specific information expected of a major history. Chapters address the literature itself, the practices and conditions of its composition, and its complex relationship with African social and geopolitical history. The book provides an account of the entire body of productions that can be considered to comprise the field of African literature, defined both by imaginative expression in Africa itself and the black diaspora.
  • Encyclopedia of Latin American Theater - Eladio Cortes & Mirta Barrea-Marlys (Editors)
    ISBN/ISSN: 0313290415
    Latin American culture has given birth to numerous dramatic works, though it has often been difficult to locate information about these plays and playwrights. This volume traces the history of Latin American theater, including the Nuyorican and Chicano theaters of the United States, and surveys its history from the pre-Columbian period to the present. Sections cover individual Latin American countries. Each section features alphabetically arranged entries for playwrights, independent theaters, and cultural movements.
 
 

Spain's History and Culture

  • Encyclopedia of contemporary Spanish culture - Eamonn Rodgers, honorary assistant editor, Valerie Rodgers.
    ISBN/ISSN: 0415263530
    The 750 A-Z entries in this work cover the cultural and political developments throughout Spain, including the culture of Catalonia, Galicia and the Basque country. Coverage spans from the end of the Civil War in 1939 to the present day [1999], with emphasis on the changes made since the demise of the Franco dictatorship in 1975.
  • The Cambridge Companion to Modern Spanish Culture - David T. Gies
    ISBN/ISSN: 0521574080
    This book offers a comprehensive account of modern Spanish culture from its beginnings in the Revolution of 1868 to the present day[1999]. Specially-commissioned essays by leading experts analyze the historical and political background of modern Spain, the culture of major regions including Castile, Catalonia, and the Basque Country, and the country's literature. There are studies of painting, sculpture, architecture, cinema, dance, music, and the modern media.
  • The Encyclopedia of the Spanish-American and Philippine-American Wars: A Political, Social, and Military History - Spencer C. Tucker
    ISBN/ISSN: 1851099514
    The encyclopedia offers two complete volumes of alphabetically organized entries written by some of the world's foremost historians, covering everything from the course of the wars to relevant economic, social, and cultural matters in the United States, Spain, and other nations. Featuring a separate volume of primary-source documents and a wealth of images and maps, the encyclopedia portrays the day-to-day drama and lasting legacy of the war like never before, guiding readers through a seminal event in America's transition from the Gilded Age to the Progressive Era.

Other titles of interest

  • Cambridge Companion to the Latin American Novel  
      
    his Companion offers a broad overview of the novel's history and analyses in depth several representative works by, for example, Gabriel García Márquez, Machado de Assis, Isabel Allende and Mario Vargas Llosa.
  • Cambridge Companion to the Spanish Novel  
      
    This Companion presents the development of the modern Spanish novel from 1600 to the present [2003]. Drawing on the combined legacies of Don Quijote and the traditions of the picaresque novel, these essays focus on the question of invention and experiment. It examines the role played by historical events and cultural contexts in the elaboration of the Spanish novel
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait