Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Spanish 

This guide offers you useful information on how to find and search for books, journals and other resources for Spanish
Last update: Oct 20th, 2009 URL: http://classguides.lib.uconn.edu/Spanish  Print Guide  RSS Updates Email Alerts

Journals/Databases             Print Page
  
 

How to Find Journals

Electronic Journal Locator
The University of Connecticut Libraries purchases access to over 10,000 journals, online and in full text, through various databases and commercial online journal providers.

Citation Styles for Electronic Formats: An excellent cite to help you format your electronic sources in the appropiate MLA style or any style you need

Another alternative way to find articles

Can't find any article searching the library databases? Unsure where to start? Try Google Scholar! This is a metasearch engine by Google that search across many article databases but in English and Spanish (or any language you prefer) and also Open Access journals (which are free to the public)


(search results open in a new window)
 

Selected Databases for Spanish Literature

  • MLA International Bibliography  
      
    Scholarly articles in literature and linguistics. Indexes over 6,000 national and international journals, as well as books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. From the Modern Language Association.
  • Gale Literature Resource Center  
      
    The Resource Center includes Contemporary Authors Online, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and Dictionary of Literary Biography Online.
  • JSTOR  
      
    Essential scholarly journals in many academic fields, especially arts, literature, humanities, and biology. Some back to early 1900s; most recent 2-5 years not available. Most Latin American and Caribbean Studies journals are found here.
  • HAPI  
      
    Summarizes articles about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States. International scope. 1970-current. Most articles are in Spanish.
  • Handbook of Latin American Studies  
      
    Annotated bibliography of articles in the humanities and social sciences 1935-present. Mostly in Spanish, with some articles in English. Great resources to a wide variety of materials published in Latin America, the Caribbean and the U.S.
  • Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)  
      
    Indexes scholarly articles in linguistics; language (speech sounds, sentence and word structure, meaning in language forms, spelling, phonetics); and speech, language, and hearing. 1973-current.
  • ProQuest Dissertations & Theses  
      
    Indexes every doctoral dissertation completed in the U.S. at accredited institutions. Includes some master's theses and foreign language dissertations. 1861-present; full-text 1997 to present.
 

Citation Tools

  • Citation Style Tutorial and Examples  
      
    Useful information about proper citation usage, how to avoid plagiarism and examples of citation styles such as APA, MLA, Chicago, etc...
  • RefWorks  
      
    RefWorks is a web-based bibliographic management program which allows you to: Create a personal database of citations from journal articles, books, book chapters or other sources; Automatically generate a bibliography (works cited page) in APA, MLA, etc.
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait