Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Spanish 

This guide offers you useful information on how to find and search for books, journals and other resources for Spanish
Last update: Oct 20th, 2009 URL: http://classguides.lib.uconn.edu/Spanish  Print Guide  RSS Updates Email Alerts

Archival Resources             Print Page
  
 

Did you know...?

Some of the titles in the Duque de T'Serclaes collection of Spanish Periodical and Newspapers are so rare that UCONN is the only repository with the original copies in the world.

 
 

Archival Resources about Spain and Spanish Spanish Literature

Thomas J. Dodd Research Center Collections Relevant to Spain history and Spanish Literature

Spanish Periodicals and Newspapers:

Collected by the late Duque de T'Serclaes, the collection spans three centuries. The bulk of the materials cover the years 1800-1840, with emphasis on the Napoleonic period and the Wars of Independence for Latin America. The periodicals nad newspapers are abundant with information on all aspects of Spanish society: politics and government, history, literature, science, the arts, religion, and economy and trade. These materials also offer many details about life in the Spanish territories of Latin America.

 

Rare Books Collections:

  • Arjona:  Professor Jaime Homero Arjona, a former chair of the Spanish Section's the Department of Modern and Classical Languages, donated to the Dodd Center his extensive collections of 1st editions and other rare books of novels and plays from Spanish writers such as Lope de Vega, Calderon de la Barca, etc...
  • Madrid: This collection consists of more than 2,000 books, pamphlets, magazine and newspaper articles, broadsides, ephemera, maps and pictorial works relating to the history of the city of Madrid.

Both these collections can be search in HOMER although it is important to use the right title to get to the books records. If you have any questions, please contact the curator Marisol Ramos for assistance.

 

 

Archival Resources Online

  • Spain's traditional music audio recording  
    Spain 1952-1953 Alan Lomax’s Spanish field recordings, made in 1952 during the Franco regime, bear witness to a time in Spanish cultural history which remains relatively obscure. Made in cooperation with the BBC, the collection was recorded with the assistance of Jeannette “Pip” Bell and with the collaboration of Eduardo Torner, Juan Uria Riu, Julio Caro Baroja, Antonio Mari, Walter Starkie, and Radio Nacional. It samples the folk music of Andalusia, Aragon, Asturias, Castile, Catalonia,
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait