This is the "Home" page of the "EEB 2244 W General Ecology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

EEB 2244 W General Ecology  

Last Updated: Jan 17, 2017 URL: http://classguides.lib.uconn.edu/ecologystorrs Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Quick Links to Start Your Research

Homer has been replaced by a General Search function to discover books, articles, journals and other materials. We do have a guide for how to search this collection (the software for the General Search is called Primo.)

For help finding books on the shelf, check out the Call Numbers page.

Interlibrary Loan - To borrow something we don't have

 


 

Class Outline

Biology 2244W Ecology

Library Instruction

Spring, 2017

  

Introduction

  • What are refereed journals? 
  • What is primary literature?
  • Class libguide:  http://classguides.lib.uconn.edu/ecologystorrs

 

Choosing a topic:

Look for sources with broad coverage

  • Search any database for topics within a particular journal or review journal (Science, Nature, Trends in Ecology & Evolution, etc.)
  • Search for review articles by topic in a database
  • Look for classic topics in your textbook
  • Scan popular science sciences magazines such as Scientific American or Discover, or popular websites like sciencedaily.com
  • Learn about your topic using encyclopedias, handbooks, or other books

 

Find primary research on specific topics:

Biology databases:

·         Biosis Citation Database – best overall biology database for all topics, 1969+

·         ASFA - marine and freshwater environments, 1978+.

·         CAB Direct – agriculture, veterinary, parasitology, 1973+

·         Scopus – multidisciplinary, strong coverage in the sciences, 1996+

·         Zoological Record – premier zoology database, 1864+

 

Search Essentials

                Identify the main concepts of your search topic

Truncation

Operators (and, or, not)

Nesting terms

Field searching – review articles or by journal name

 

Locate Journal Articles

UConn Fulltext button in databases

Find by journal on library’s homepage – Find, then E-journals

General Search for print journal holding – Find, then General Search, search for journals

Interlibrary Loan (for what we do not have at UConn)

               

Vocabulary & Concept Assistance:

Dictionaries

Encyclopedias

 

Writing Assistance

For assistance in writing and editing papers at any stage, contact the UConn Writing Center at www.writingcenter.uconn.edu,  860.486.4387

 

Assistance with Scientific Names for Organisms:

Integrated Taxonomic Information System – an authoritative taxonomic information source for plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world. A good source for taxonomic hierarchies from either scientific or common organism names.  At www.itis.gov

 

Skybox

Access to a wide array of software at your desktop. Login at skybox.uconn.edu. You will have access to UConn licensed software from your PC, MC or mobile devise from anywhere in the world (where you have internet access.)  At skybox.uconn.edu

 

RefWorks

A tool to help you manage citations and write papers. At refworks.uconn.edu

·         Import references directly from online databases

·         Combine with Word to help you write papers and bibliographies

·         Access your personal account from any computer connected to the internet

·         Free access for all UConn students

Bio/Agricult. Librarian

Profile Image
Carolyn Mills
Contact Info
Babbidge Library
University of Connecticut
Storrs, CT 06269
860-486-1263
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip