Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Women's Studies Resources 

Last update: Nov 09th, 2009 URL: http://classguides.lib.uconn.edu/womensstudies  Print Guide  RSS Updates Email Alerts

Articles/Databases             Print Page
  
 

Articles, Chapters, and Books

What kind of research is found in databases?

"Popular" communication ~ informs and entertains the general public through articles in magazines and newspapers. Magazines like Newsweek, Ms., and off our backs are examples of popular sources. Scholarly communication ~ disseminates research and academic discussion among professionals within disciplines through scholarly and peer-reviewed journals and books/book chapters. Journals such as Feminism and Psychology and Journal of Gender Studies are examples of scholarly sources.
If there is no PDF or HTML link to the full text in the database you are using, use UConn Links. It can locate online full text or the print version of an article or book/chapter. It also makes it easy to request materials the UConn Library does not have. Look for the icon or the words "UConn Links" in the database record of the item you are interested in. Click the icon or link and follow the steps provided.

Need journal articles? Start with these databases:


Women's Studies International
(1972-present) covers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Includes research from sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, proceedings, reports, dissertations, NGO studies, important websites & web documents, grey literature, and more. Over 2,000 periodical sources.

Sociological Abstracts
Scholarly journal articles, book chapters, and monographs about sociology and other social sciences. Includes culture & social structure; economic development; gender studies; feminism and feminist theory; policy planning. Identifies scholars and their research interests.

Academic Search Premier
Includes most disciplines (multidisciplinary) with good coverage of both popular and scholarly publications.

Academic Onefile (formerly InfoTrac)
Includes most disciplines (multidisciplinary) with good coverage of both popular and scholarly publications.

Alternative Press Index
Indexes journals covering cultural, economic, political & social change. 1991-current.

Alternative Press Index Archive
Indexes journals covering cultural, economic, political & social change. 1969-1990.

More Databases for Women's Studies

Feminist Theory, Spirituality, and Religion Gender Studies Global Perspective History Human Rights, Poverty, and Violence Law Literature and Art Statistics United States Women’s Issues Women's Health

Multi-disciplinary Databases: magazine, scholarly, and trade journal articles

 

LexisNexis Academic Full text of magazine and journal articles, business reports, medical information, and case law. Some journals in Contemporary Women's Issues are available full text in LexisNexis Academic.

Academic Search Premier Includes indexing, abstracts, and fulltext over 8,000 journals and magazines.

Academic Onefile (formerly InfoTrac). Nearly 3000 general interest and scholarly journals. Contains full text of many Women's Studies research journals.

More databases

 

Women's Studies related databases

All Databases: Over 250 databases in all disciplines. Searchable by database name or subject area.

Women's Studies Journals at UConn

 

Women's Studies Journals Online and in Print : Direct links to online full text Women's Studies journals subscriptions and HOMER records for hardcopy titles.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait