This is the "Online resources" page of the "Philosophy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Philosophy  

Philosophy resources
Last Updated: Jan 26, 2016 URL: http://classguides.lib.uconn.edu/philosophy Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Online resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Contact information

Richard Bleiler
Humanities Librarian
Homer Babbidge Library
369 Fairfield Way, U-1005-RI
University of Connecticut,
Storrs, CT 06269-1005
Voice: (860) 486-1246
FAX: (860) 486-6100

 

Research resources

Resources for the study of philosophy and philosophers:


The Philosopher's Index is the core database for philosophical researches. 

  • Philosopher's Index (1940 - current)
    The premiere bibliography for philosophy scholarship, indexing journal articles, books, chapters, and book reviews, on all areas of philosophy, including including aesthetics, axiology, epistemology, ethics, logic, metaphysics, metaphilosophy, philosophical anthropology, philosophy of education, philosophy of history, philosophy of language, philosophy of religion; philosophy of science, political philosophy, and social philosophy.

     

The following databases frequently have information on philosophical topics:

L'Année Philologique (1928 - current)
Indexes scholarly articles, chapters, books, and dissertations, about the Greek and Latin classics and their authors, including many philosophers.

Art Abstracts and Art Index Retrospective (1984-indexes; 1994-abstracts - current)
Indexes scholarly articles about art and related subjects, including aesthetics, ethics, and artistic philosophy, published in national and international journals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (1930s - current) 
Indexes more than 2,000 national and international scholarly journals studying architecture and such related subjects as aesthetics, ethics, and architectural philosophies. 

Bibliography of the History of Art (1975 - current)
Indexes more than 1200 national and international scholarly journals. The BHA subject headings include such terms as aesthetics, ethics, and philosophy, as well as the names of philosophers and those who have written on the philosophy of art.

BIOSIS Previews (1969 - current)
The premier database of world biology literature, and an important source for philosophy research, BIOSIS Previews contains numerous articles on the philosophy of science.

Cambridge Collections Online (CCO)
The full texts of more than 2200 essays from the more than 200 Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion, and Culture.

INSPEC (1969 - current)
Indexes more than 4,200 journals and more than 2,000 conference proceedings, books, and reports, with numerous articles on the philosophies of physics and science.

International Medieval Bibliography (1967 - current)
Indexes scholarly articles, books, chapters, and conference proceedings for material about philosophy and philosophers in Europe, the Middle East and North Africa in the period 400-1500.

Iter (1784 - current)
Indexes more than 1700 scholarly journals as well as books, chapters, and dissertations for researching philosophy and philosophers during the Middle Ages and the Renaissance (400 - 1700).

JSTOR
Contains the full-text of several hundred important and essential scholarly journals in many fields, including philosophy.  JSTOR is rarely current: most material will be 2 - 5 years old.

Lexis/Nexis Academic
The full texts of US, Canadian, UK, and EU Law Reviews and Journals, as well as rulings in Federal and State cases that can be used to research such subjects as legal ethics and the philosophy of law.

LGBT Life with full text (aka GLBT Life with full text) (1970s - current)
Covers numerous traditional academic, lifestyle, and regional publications, and offers information on various philosophies.

MathSciNet (1800s - current)
With more than 2,500,000 articles from over 400 journals, MathSciNet is essential to the research of such subjects as mathematical logic and the history and philosophy of science.

Oxford Art Online (aka Grove Art Online
Over 45,000 articles on every aspect of the visual arts (painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography) from prehistory to the present to the present.  Includes the full Encyclopedia of AestheticsNote:  the paper version of this is the Grove Dictionary of Art (N 6847 G758 2000).

Oxford Reference Online
The full texts of approximately 100 reference books published by the Oxford University Press, including a number on philosophy, art, history, and literature. 

Project Muse
The full-text of several hundred important and essential scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences, including a number of philosophy journals. Project Muse titles are rarely more than 10 - 12 years old. 

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (1861 - present; full-text 1997 - present)
Indexes every doctoral dissertation completed in the U.S. at accredited institutions. Includes some master's theses and foreign language dissertations. 

PsycInfo (1872 - present)
Indexes more than 2400 scholarly journals as well as books, chapters, and dissertations on psychology, plus material on such related subjects as animism, determinism, dualism, epistemology, existentialism, hermeneutics, humanism, idealism, intersubjectivity, logic, materialism, naturalism, nihilism, ontology, phenomenology, positivism, realism, and relativism.

Religion & Philosophy Collection through EbscoHOST
The full texts of nearly 300 journals, including those on epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. 

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Level 1 Information Café 2: Shared CD-ROM Workstation.  CD containing more than 2000 articles, covering a broad range of topics in philosophy, including philosophy from all continents and periods. Offers the ability to search by theme, region, religious tradition or period. 

SCOPUS (1966 - current for general searching; 1996 - current for citation searching)
Indexes citations from approximately 5300 scholarly journals in the social sciences and arts and humanities.  

Sociological Abstracts (1963 - present)
Indexes more than 1800 scholarly journals offering material on such topics as ancient Greek philosophy, cosmology, deconstruction, dialectics, doctrines, egalitarianism, epistemology, ethics, ideologies, hermeneutics, logic, metaphysics, methodology, mysticism, naturalism, reality, semiotics, social philosophy, and theology.

SPIN (1975 - present)
Indexing articles from scholarly physical science journals published by the American Institute of Physics, its member societies, and other affiliated organizations, SPIN has material on such subjects as the philosophies of physics and science.

Women's Studies International (1972 - present)

Over 2000 periodical sources are represented, and nearly 800 essential sources are indexed, including journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, web sites and web documents and grey literature that can be used to research feminist philosophy.

Philosophers

American National Biography   
More than 17, 400 specially written biographical articles (often with illustrations) about deceased American men and women. 

Dictionary of Irish Biography  
More than 9,000 specially written biographies of the men and women who made a significant contribution to Ireland, as well as those born overseas who had noteworthy careers in Ireland.  

Dictionary of National Biography (DNB)  
Approximately 50,000 specially written biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's past, from the fourth century BC to the year 2000.  

Literature Resource Center  
Provides biographical data on approximately 130,000 writers and creative figures from classical Greece to the present. 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip