Key Websites
- Latin American Government Documents Archives
The Latin American Government Documents Archive (LAGDA) seeks to preserve and facilitate access to a wide range of ministerial and presidential documents from 18 Latin American and Caribbean countries. The Archive contains copies of the Web sites of approximately 300 government ministries and presidencies. Capture of sites began on multiple dates in 2005 and 2006, and will continue with regularly scheduled captures. - Political Database of the Americas
The Political Database of the Americas (PDBA) is a non-governmental project of the Center for Latin American Studies (CLAS) at Georgetown University in collaboration with institutions like the Secretariat for Political Affairs of the Organization of American States and FLACSO-Chile, and also with the support of other organizations and entities in the region. - CEPAL / ECLAC (Economic Commission for Latin America & the Caribbean)
ECLAC, which is headquartered in Santiago, Chile, is one of the five regional commissions of the United Nations. It was founded with the purpose of contributing to the economic development of Latin America, coordinating actions directed towards this end, and reinforcing economic ties among countries and with other nations of the world. The promotion of the region's social development was later included among its primary objectives. - Country Reports on Human Rights Practices
U.S. State Department reports on Human Rights, per year and countries. - Organization of American States (OAS)
The Organization of American States (OAS) is an international organization established in 1948. Today it comprises the 35 independent States of the Americas and constitutes the principal political, juridical, and social governmental forum in the Hemisphere. - Inter-American Development Bank (IDB)
The IDB, established in 1959 to support the process of economic and social development in Latin America and the Caribbean, is the main source of multilateral financing in the region. The IDB Group provides solutions to development challenges by partnering with governments, companies and civil society organizations, thus reaching its clients ranging from central governments to city authorities and businesses. - World Bank
The World Bank is a vital source of financial and technical assistance to developing countries around the world. We are not a bank in the common sense. We are made up of two unique development institutions owned by 186 member countries—the International Bank for Reconstruction and Development (IBRD) and the International Development Association (IDA). - International Monetary Fund (IMF)
The International Monetary Fund (IMF) is an organization of 186 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world.
Foreign Relations of the United States
The Foreign Relations of the United States series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. Below is an example of the richness of this material for political sciences and Latin American and Caribbean Studies:
- Telegraph from the Embassy in Chile to the Department of State, Foreign Relations of the United States, 1964-1968. Volume XXXI, South and Central America; Mexico, Document 251
Some of the volumes are available online and the library has many in print. Below is a list of available volumes online related to Latin America and the Caribbean. In the library, visit the Federal Documents Level B, Call Number S 1.1 to find the following volumes:
1932-1964/1968:v.22, 1964/1968:v.24-1969/1976:v.1, 1969/1976:v.3-1969/1976:v.6, 1969/1976:v.11-1969/1976:v.12, 1969/1976:v.14, 1969/1976:v.17-1969/1976:v.18, 1969/1976:v.20, 1969/1976:v.29-1969/1976:v.30, 1969/1976:v.39-1969/1976:v.40
Below is a list of the volumes available online that related to Latin America and the Caribbean
- U.S. Department of State (New Site)
This is the current site for the Obama Administration' US State Department website. Hillary Clinton is the current State Secretary. - United States Department of State Archival Site
The State Department web site below is a permanent electronic archive of information released prior to January 20, 2001. - Kennedy Administration: Foreign Relations of the United States, 1961-1963, Volume X: Cuba, January 1961-September 1962
- Kennedy Administration: Foreign Relations of the United States, 1961-1963, Volume XI: Cuban Missile Crisis and Aftermath
- Kennedy Administration: Foreign Relations of the United States, 1961-1963, Volume XII: American Republics
The documentation printed in this volume focuses on U.S. policy toward the American Republics of the Caribbean, Central, and South America. - Johnson Administration: Foreign Relations, 1964-1968 South and Central America; Mexico
- Johnson Administration: Foreign Relations, 1964-1968 Dominican Republic; Cuba; Haiti; Guyana
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait