Professional Organizations
- New England Council of Latin American Studies The mission of the Council is to foster and develop interests in Latin American studies by scholars, researchers, teachers, students, and the general public primarily located in the New England region, to encourage more effective training, teaching and research in Latin American affairs, and to facilitate greater exchanges within the region of information and ideas through lectures, forum, seminars, conferences, and publications.
- LASA-Latin American Studies Association LASA's mission is to foster intellectual discussion, research, and teaching on Latin America, the Caribbean, and its people throughout the Americas.
- Caribbean Studies Association
The Caribbean Studies Association (CSA) is an independent professional organization devoted to the promotion of Caribbean studies from a multidisciplinary, multicultural point of view. - SALALM-Seminar on the Acquisition of Latin American Library Materials
SALALM's primary missions are the control and dissemination of bibliographic information about all types of Latin American publications and the development of library collections of Latin Americana in support of educational research.
Key Websites for Latin American and Caribbean Studies
- Council on Hemispheric Affairs
The Council on Hemispheric Affairs (COHA), was established (1975) among other things to "encourage the formulation of rational and constructive U.S. policies towards Latin America." You can subscribe to receive update reports on Latin Am. policy - LANIC Latin American Network Information Center

LANIC's mission is to facilitate access to Internet-based information to, from, or on Latin America. Our target audience includes people living in Latin America, as well as those around the world who have an interest in this region. - Hispanic Reading Room at the Library of Congress
The Hispanic Reading Room, serves as the primary access point for research relating to those parts of the world encompassing the geographical areas of the Caribbean, Latin America, and Iberia; the indigenous cultures of those area. - LARRP-Latin Americanist Research Resources Partnership
LARRP is a cooperative initiative of North American, Latin American, and Caribbean libraries that seek to improve access to the array of research resources published in Latin America. - The World of 1898: The Spanish-American War Home Page This site created by the Library of Congress's Hispanic Division, provides resources and documents about the Spanish-American War, the period before the war, and some of the fascinating people who participated in the fighting or commented about it. Information about Cuba, Guam, the Philippines, Puerto Rico, Spain, and the United States is provided in chronologies, bibliographies, and a variety of pictorial and textual material from bilingual sources, supplemented by an overview essay about the w
- Resources by New England Council of Latin American Studies (NECLAS) List of resources compiled by the NECLAS. Include links to US embassies in Latin America, universities in Latin America and much more.
Blogs and other Personal accounts online
- Generación Y This blog written by Yoani Sanchez, an online reporter, is a very interesting take on Cuba today by a young person in Cuba, which has been recognized with many international awards for her writing online.
Other interesting sites
- Art Havana The mission of Art Havana is to promote contemporary Cuban art and culture. We are the best choice in town to guide Art Collectors to visit Cuban artist home-studios as well as museums, cultural institutions, galleries and special events. This website was created to showcase Cuban artists to anyone, anywhere.
- Musica de la Frontera Digital Library

The Arhoolie Foundation's Strachwitz Frontera Collection of commercially produced Mexican and Mexican-American Recordings (the Frontera Collection) is the largest repository of Mexican and Mexican-American vernacular recordings in existence. - Archive of Hispanic Literature on Tape
The Archive of Hispanic Literature on Tape was begun in 1943 by Francisco Aguilera (1899-1979) to record on magnetic tape original voice recordings of selections of the writings of contemporary poets and writers.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait