Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Latin American & Caribbean Studies Resources  Tags: latin_america latin_american caribbean  

This guide offers you useful information on how to find and search for books, journals and other resources for Latin American and Caribbean Studies
Last update: Oct 27th, 2009 URL: http://classguides.lib.uconn.edu/LACARIB  Print Guide  RSS Updates Email Alerts

Archival Resources             Print Page
  
 

For more information

The Thomas J. Dodd Research Center housed an amazing collection of primary sources (first person accounts, newspapers, personal and business papers, photographs) and rare books from Spain, Latin American and the Caribbean. For a complete list of archival materials for Latin American and the Caribbean, please visit the Latin American & Caribbean Collection page If you want to use these collection for your research, contact the curator, marisol.ramos@uconn.edu for further information.

 

Did You Know?

 

The Romano Human Rights Digital Photography Collection contains images of child labor from around the world, including in the United States and Mexico?  The collection is available through HuskyCT; please contact the curator of the collection, Valerie Love, for more information. 

 
 

Resources at the Dodd Research Center

Thomas J. Dodd Research Center Collections Relevant to Latin American Studies

Alternative Press Collection (APC):

The Alternative Press Collection was founded in the late 1960s as a repository for publications emanating from activist movements for social, cultural and political change. The collection contains thousands of newspapers, serials, books, pamphlets, ephemera and artifacts documenting activist themes and organizations. The APC contains materials pertaining to non-white racial and ethnic identities and power movements, including the a number of Latino and Latin American publications.

Check HOMER for titles, or contact the curator, valerie.love@uconn.edu for further information.

The Latin American Newspaper Collection:  Finding Aid

Politics, commerce, social life, and other Latin American and Caribbean affairs of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries are covered in the approximately 2000 titles of the Latin American Newspapers Collection. The collection is strongest for the late nineteenth century and contains newspapers from virtually every country of Latin America and the Caribbean. The most notable portion of the collection is represented by newspapers from Bolivia and Peru. Twenty-nine cities of Bolivia are represented with major holdings from the cities of La Paz and Cochabamba. Newspaper titles are available from 18 cities of Peru. Examples of some of the larger runs in the collection include El Comercio (La Paz); El Comercio de Bolivia (La Paz); La (La Paz); El Telégrafo (La Paz); and El Heraldo (Cochabamba).

Online Archival Resources

  • Lomax Geo Archive  
      
    Welcome to the Lomax Geo-Archive, a project designed to provide access to the thousands of sound recordings of Alan Lomax, beginning with Lomax's first recordings onto (newly invented) tape in 1946 and tracing his career into the 1990s.
  • LACCHA (Latin American and Caribbean Cultural Heritage Archives) roundtable  
      
    The mission of the Latin American and Caribbean Cultural Heritage Archives (LACCHA) roundtable is to create a space to exchange ideas and provide support among US, Caribbean and Latin American archivists about the challenges and opportunities of acquiring, managing, preserving and giving access to those archival materials not only originating from Latin American & the Caribbean and housed in the United States but also archival collections created by groups from different Diasporas coming from th
  • LACCHA Blog  
      
    LACCHA, a Society of American Archivists' roundtable, is dedicated to the discussion and sharing of information regarding Latin American and Caribbean archival collections in the United States. This blog is the place where virtual meetings/discussion happen and everybody is welcome to share their thoughts regarding issues affecting this collections.
 

Rare Books Collections

The Thomas J. Dodd research Center's Archives & Special Collections have several interesting books collections from Chile and Puerto Rico:

The Chile Collection

It has approximately 2,700 volumes that document the history and politics of Chile from the sixteenth century through 1940 with a particular strength in the years 1810-1940

The Puerto Rican Collection

This collection consist of over 2,000 volumes of books, pamphlets, goverment documents and some periodicals on the social, economic, political and literary history of Puerto Rico during the late nineteenth to early twentieth century.

Both collections have been catalogued and can be searched using HOMER, the UCONN libraries, online catalog. If you have questions regarding this collection, please contact the curator, Marisol Ramos for assistance.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait