About the Library
Interdisciplinary DatabasesNewspaper Databases
Keyword SearchWeb - Classical ScoresWeb - Sheet MusicPerusal Scores
Choral MusicComposition & TheoryDevotionalEarly MusicFolk MusicJazzMusic EducationMusical TheaterNew MusicOpera/Vocal MusicPopular MusicWorld MusicWomen in Music
Streaming AudioStreaming Video
Avoiding PlagiarismCitation IndexesMusic Style Guides
Public Domain ResourcesCopyright & Permissions
CT Performance OrganizationsContemporary Music (Performances/Venues)
This is the "Women in Music" page of the "General Guide to Music Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

General Guide to Music Resources   Tags: composition, ethnomusicology, music, musicology, performance, theory  

This guide will help you locate resources in the University of Connecticut Libraries, electronic databases, and open-access/online resources specific to music studies.
Last Updated: Dec 30, 2016 URL: http://classguides.lib.uconn.edu/music Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Women in Music Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Resources

Frasier, Jane. Women Composers: A Discography. Detroit: Information Coordinators, 1983. Reference ML156. 4. W6 F7 1983

Ericson, Margaret D. Women and Music: A Selective Annotated Bibliography on Women and Gender Issues in Music, 1987-1992. New York: G.K. Hall, 1996 Reference ML128. W7 E75 1996

Block, Adrienne Fried, and Carol Neuls-Bates. Women in American Music: A Bibliography of Music and Literature. Westport, Conn: Greenwood Press, 1979. Reference ML128. W7 B6

Burns, Kristine Helen. Women and Music in America Since 1900: An Encyclopedia. Westport, Conn: Greenwood Press, 2002. Reference ML82. W625 2002 V.1-2

Skowronski, JoAnn. Women in American Music: A Bibliography. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1978. Reference ML128. W7 S6

American Women Composers. Women in Music: Directory and Information Guide, Listing the Activities of Women in Music. Belmont, Mass: American Women Composers, Massachusetts Chapter, 1984. Reference ML82. W65 1984

Pool, Jeannie G. Women in Music History: A Research Guide. New York: Pool, 1977 Reference ML128. W7 P6

Pendle, Karin. Women in Music: A Research and Information Guide. Routledge music bibliographies. New York: Routledge, 2010. ML128. W7 P46 2010

Hixon, Donald L., and Don A. Hennessee. Women in Music: A Biobibliography. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1975. Reference ML105. H6

 

Online Resources

ACRL Women & Gender Studies: Women in Music

  • links to bibliographies, websites, and other resources related to women in music, as well as other women and gender studies topics.

IAWM: Educational Resources and Databases

  • contains links to online materials about women musicians, link to the Hot Wire Journal Archive chronicle of the feminist-lesbian-womens music festival scene (1984-1994), special articles, and other important databases.

Signature Women in Music

  • online magazine, accessible online, devoted to the achievements of women in music
  • contains links to other events and conferences

Arsis Press: Music by Women Composers

  • publisher of concert and sacred music by women composers

Kapralova Society: Women in Music Resources

  • contains multiple links to sources of women in music: journals, bibliographies, online texts, composers, societies and organizations, MIDI files, publishers, broadcasters, presenters, and databases.

Into the Light Radio

  • weekly radio program devoted to art music of the past and present composed by women.

Women Composers MIDI

  • includes a compilation of MIDI files of compositions by women in early music and in ragtime

Women Conductors

  • a database of women conductors with links to their bios and/or website
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip