This is the "Home" page of the "Consumer Health" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

University of Connecticut University Libraries

Consumer Health  

How to find health information for personal interest.
Last Updated: Sep 3, 2013 URL: http://classguides.lib.uconn.edu/consumerhealth Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Good Places to Start

medlineplus

MedlinePlus is the best starting point for consumer health information!

PubMed Central is the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature. 

NOAH (New York Online Access to Health) provides access to high quality consumer health information in English and Spanish.

Healia provides access to online health community and support groups, health guides, and quizzes.

 

 

Free Drug Information

CenterWatch/Clinical Trials Listing Service provides information for both patients and professionals. The CenterWatch Email Notification Service allows patients to be notified when new clinical trials are added to this site in their therapeutic area of interest.

Dietary Supplements Labels Database contains information from the labels of over 4,000 brands of dietary supplements in the marketplace, including vitamins, minerals, herbs or other botanicals, amino acids, and other specialty supplements.

Drug Information Portal is a gateway to drug information from the National Library of Medicine and other key government agencies.   

DrugDigest  is a noncommercial, evidence-based, consumer-oriented drug information resource and includes information on herbs and supplements. 

Needy Meds is a source of information for people who need help with the cost of medicine and healthcare.

PillBox provides rapid identification of unknown tablets or capsules based on their physical characteristics, such as size, imprint, color and shape.   

Safemedication.com  is the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists' consumer site. It has good diagrams for how to administer/use eye drops, ointments, inhaler, etc.  


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip