This is the "Getting started" page of the "Communication" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Communication  

Guide to finding communication resources.
Last Updated: Dec 28, 2016 URL: http://classguides.lib.uconn.edu/commsci Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome!

Welcome to the Communications Studies Guide! The purpose of this guide is to offer tips regarding picking topics, searching and a selection of the best bets in term of journals, databases and related resources necessary to do communication research.

Picking a topic or writing a research question can be a challenge if you don't know much about the field of Communication Studies. For that reason it is necessary to do some background research in the field or about a general topic to get a sense of what are the main issues and to decide what you want to focus on for your research paper or project.

 

Doing Background Research

Encyclopedias, handbooks and dictionaries are a good starting place to learn more about the issues and topics that are important in the Communications studies field. In this page, I listed several books that offer the type of background information (theories and specific research topics) in Communication Sciences that will help you develop your topic/research question. You can find other encyclopedias and handbooks using the General Search text box in the library website. Use keywords such encyclopedias, handbooks, communication, "media communication" or "interpersonal communication" to find similar books.

Cover Art
A Dictionary of Media and Communication - Daniel Chandler; Rod Munday
ISBN: 9780199568758
Publication Date: 2011-04-01
The Dictionary of Media and Communication is an authoritative and wide-ranging A-Z providing over 2,200 entries on terms used in media and communication, from concepts and theories to technical terms, across subject areas that include advertising, digital culture, journalism, new media, radiostudies, and telecommunications.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Children, Adolescents, and the Media - Jeffrey Jensen Arnett (Editor)
ISBN: 1412905303
Publication Date: 2006-12-14
From Internet censorship to sex and violence on television and in video games to debates over rock lyrics, the media and their affect on children and adolescents is one of the most widely debated issues in our society. The Encyclopedia of Children, Adolescents, and the Media presents state-of-the-art research and ready-to-use facts on the media's interaction with children and adolescents. Includes entries covering television, film, video games, the Internet, magazines and music.

Cover Art
Mediated Interpersonal Communication - Elly A. Konijn (Editor); Sonja Utz (Editor); Martin Tanis (Editor); Susan B. Barnes (Editor)
Call Number: HM1166 .M43 2008
ISBN: 9780203926864
Publication Date: 2008-05-12
This collection explores how existing and new personal communication technologies facilitate and change interpersonal interactions. (Available in print and online)

 

Theories and Research Methods

If you know your topic and need help to find a theoretical framework or a research methods for your project. Here is a list of resources that may help you.

Cover Art
Handbook of Media and Communications Research - Klaus Bruhn Jensen (Editor)
Call Number: P91.3 .H34 2002
ISBN: 0415225884
Publication Date: 2002-05-10
A Handbook of Media and Communications Research presents qualitative as well as quantitative approaches to the analysis and interpretation of media, covering perspectives from both the social sciences and the humanities. To use this book, use this "Search within this publication" for any topic in this area. Available in print too.

Cover Art
Sourcebook for Political Communication Research - Erik P. Bucy; R. Lance Holbert
ISBN: 9780203938669
Publication Date: 2010-12-14
The Sourcebook for Political Communication Research offers a comprehensive resource for current research methods, measures, and analytical techniques. The contents herein cover the major analytical techniques used in political communication research, including surveys, experiments, content analysis, discourse analysis (focus groups and textual analysis), network and deliberation analysis, comparative study designs, statistical analysis, and measurement issues.

Cover Art
Handbook of Visual Communication - Kenneth L. Smith (Editor); Sandra Moriarty (Editor); Gretchen Barbatsis (Editor); Keith Kenney (Editor); Ann Marie Barry (Contribution by); Michael Brown (Contribution by); Elizabeth Burch (Contribution by)
ISBN: 9780805841787
Publication Date: 2004-11-03
This text provides an overview of the research methodologies in visual communication and its approach includes an examination of the theories most common to visual communication, the traditional methodologies used in these theoretical areas, and innovative methodologies that extend the traditional research boundaries.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip