This is the "Citation Guides & Tools" page of the "Research QuickStart" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

University of Connecticut University Libraries

Guides you through the research process, including selecting a topic, finding resources (books, articles, statistics), reading citations, and creating a bibliography.
Last Updated: Oct 14, 2014 URL: http://classguides.lib.uconn.edu/research Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Citation Guides & Tools Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

How To Cite

What do I cite?


Any idea or quote that comes from resources that you come across need to be cited. Click here for information on citing.

What is a citation?
A citation provides information needed to identify a source. A citation of a book generally includes: author(s), title, publisher, and date. A citation of an article generally includes: author(s), article title, magazine title, volume, pages, and date. Citations for web documents and articles from databases also include a URL and the date the information was accessed.
Try a brief tutorial on understanding citations.

 

Great Citation Site!

If you're still unsure what you're doing, we highly recommend Cite Source from Trinity College! 

 

What About Easybib?

Nothing's wrong with some of the free citation sites out there, if you remember:

  • The burden's on you to make sure a bibliographic citation is correct.
  • Sometimes professors require citation styles that are variations on an existing style

Bearing those things in mind, some highly rated sites include:

 

Citation Guides

  Guides to preparing bibliographic citations, developed by University of Connecticut librarians

Humanities MLA Chicago
Sciences ACS
Social Sciences APA ASA
 

RefWorks - Online Citation Tool

RefWorks

Organize your research!

RefWorks, a UConn-sponsored online tool for managing your research materials, will export citations (and more) directly from UConn Databases, help you organize your materials into folders, reconnect directly to most articles using integrated UConnLinks, and help with your in-text citations and Works Cited.


With the Write-N-Cite plugin from RefWorks you can cite sources while you are typing your paper. Once you have created a RefWorks account be sure to download the Write-N-Cite plugin which is accessible within RefWorks. Learn how to install and use Write-N-Cite to cite sources in your paper.


Refworks workshops are occassionally held during the semester.

Refworks has created a terrific online guide http://refworks.libguides.com/home which includes step-by-step instructions, screen shots, videos, and  webinars.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip