This is the "Home" page of the "Children's Literature" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

University of Connecticut University Libraries

Children's Literature  

Last Updated: Jul 5, 2012 URL: http://classguides.lib.uconn.edu/childrensliterature Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome

This guide was created for students using published works of children's literature and original, primary source documents in classes studying literature, fairy tales and folklore, illustration, early childhood education, psychology and creative writing.    

 

Finding achival materials

A manuscript collection is a collection of personal or family papers, such as diaries, letters, notes, illustrations, drafts, photographs, and other unpublished items. 

There are several ways to find manuscript collections at the Dodd Research Center:  

  1. You can search across all finding aids full text by keyword  (example: search for the word "holocaust" in all finding aids)
  2. You can browse an alphabetical list of collections
  3. You can browse collections by subject area (example: Children's literature, Human Rights, Alternative Press, Political Collections, etc.)
  4. You can search for materials in HOMER, the University Libraries' catalog 
  5. You can look at digital photographs and documents from the collections that have been scanned and are viewable on the Dodd Center's website.

As a reminder, only a small fraction of archival materials are available online and most items will require you to come to the Dodd Center in person to use.  Each finding aid has information about the Curator for the collection; contact the curator for individual help.   

 

Description

What is the The Northeast Children's Literature Collection (http://nclc.uconn.edu)?

The Northeast Children's Literature Collection is housed in Archives & Special Collections at the Thomas J. Dodd Research Center on the Storrs Campus.  The NCLC consists of approximately 46,000 catalogued books and serials, and the manuscript collections of over 100 authors and illustrators. The Collection is supported by reference works in the Archives and the Homer Babbidge Library next door. Manuscript collections are solicited from children's authors and illustrators living in or identified with the Northeast and the Eastern Seaboard and contain all aspects of book creation, such as book dummies, sketches and other preliminary illustrations, drafts and revisions, correspondence, and related materials.

How are NCLC materials used?

Uses of the original materials in the NCLC range from images for publications, presentations, greeting cards and bookplates, to critical articles for scholarly and academic publications, and classroom work by faculty and students.  Students and other scholars use NCLC materials for research papers, biographies, and studies of the artistic processes used by published authors and illustrators.  Classes in Victorian literature, fairy tales, folklore, creative writing, education and psychology are popular users of NCLC books.   

 What else is in the Dodd Center?

The Collections by Subject page describes the Dodd Center's main areas of focus. 

Can I come and look at items in the Dodd Center?

We are open to students, faculty, staff, the general public, and researchers from other institutions.  Our hours are generally 10am-4pm Monday-Friday, but check our web site at http://doddcenter.uconn.edu/asc/about/visitor/index.htm for complete hours information.  Unlike at Babbidge Library, we have closed stacks and do not allow browsing.  Materials also do not circulate outside of the Dodd Center. Materials are retrieved from our stacks for patron use in the Reading Room. Visitors are asked to register once per academic year.  You can download the form and fill it out ahead of time, or come to the reference desk and fill out the form here.  The curators are available to help you find materials for your research, and show you how to use our online finding aids (guides to the collections),  how to search for items in HOMER and what information is available on the Dodd Center's website.

How do I find books and archives in the NCLC?  

Books and serials in the NCLC have records in Homer and are searchable in all the ways other books can be found:  by title, author, keyword,  subject, etc.  Books in children's literature do not always have subjects on the record so keyword searches are generally best.  If you don't find what you are looking for, there are bibliographies available to help in the "Find Books" tab in this guide, and a full list of the databases available for literary criticism in the Class Guide for English and American Literature at http://classguides.lib.uconn.edu/content.php?pid=71045&sid=526124.   

s. Finding aids, or the inventories of the original materials in a manuscript collection, are also catalogued with records in Homer, so if you search for "Anita Riggio" you'll get her published works as well as the finding aid to her archival collection.  If you aren't having any luck, be sure to contact the curator.

Research Help

Profile Image
Terri J. Goldich
Contact Info
Curator, Northeast Children's Literature Collection
Thomas J. Dodd Research Center
860.486.3646
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip