This is the "Home" page of the "Chemistry: Frequently Asked Questions" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

University of Connecticut University Libraries

Chemistry: Frequently Asked Questions  

Last Updated: Aug 14, 2014 URL: http://classguides.lib.uconn.edu/chemfaq Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Contents

  1. Where can I find Infrared or NMR or UV spectra?
  2. Where can I find information on a household chemical such as Raid?
  3. Where can I find the chemical name if I know the trade name of a compound?
  4. Where can I find information on pesticides?
  5. Where can I find information on Environmental Science?
  6. Where can I find information on the synthesis of an organic compound?
  7. Where can I find a named reaction?
  8. Where can I find information on the toxicity/hazards of a compound?
  9. Where can I find information on the physical/chemical properties of an inorganic/organic compound?
  10. Where can I find information about the physical properties of an industrial product?
  11. Where can I find information on polymers?
  12. I have the Registry Number of a compound, where can I find the name of the compound?
  13. I have the Chemical Abstracts Registry Number of a drug; where can I find information on this substance?
  14. I have the abbreviation of a science journal; how do I find the full title of the journal?
  15. I need the structure of a compound and need reaction information for this compound.
  16. Where can I find a patent for the synthesis and/or application of a particular compound?
  17. I have a scientific term for which I need a definition; where can I find it?
  18. I need to convert a temperature from 100 Centigrade to Fahrenheit; where can I find conversion factors?
  19. I am working with a chemical and need to know how to handle the chemical and what precautions I should take.
  20. Where can I find industrial processes for producing a chemical compound?
  21. Where can I find information on the preparation of a chemical compound for which I have the Registry Number?
 

FAQ

1. Where can I find Infrared or NMR or UV spectra?

Best Print Sources:

The Aldrich Library of Infrared Spectra Ref. QD 96 I5 P67 1981
The Aldrich Library of NMR Spectra Ref. QD 96 N8 P68 1983
Sadtler Standard Spectra (IR/NMR/UV) Level 2 / QC 453 S332
Encyclopedia of spectroscopy and spectrometryRef QD95 .E55 2000

Best Online Source:

NIST WebBook Data is available for IR gas phase, NMR, and UV/Vis spectra (see source reference descriptions here)
ChemSpider
SpectraSchool - Here you will find a range of resources to help in your understanding of the principles and practice of spectroscopic and spectrometric methods.


2. Where can I find information on a household chemical such as Raid?


Best Print Sources:

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology Ref. TP 9 E685 1991 / Ref. TP 9 K 54 2004 (v.1-6)
Chemistry of Hazardous Materials Level 2 / TH 9446 H38 M48 2005

Best Online Source:

Toxnet Household Products Database
PubChem
ChemSpider - Basic search, just type in the name of the household chemical.


3. Where can I find the chemical name if I know the trade name of a compound?

Best Print Sources:

Gardner’s Chemical Synonyms and Trade Names Ref. TP 9 G 286 1999

Best Online Source:

PubChem
ChemSpider


4. Where can I find information on pesticides?


Best Print Sources:

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology Ref. TP 9 E685 1991 / Ref. TP 9 K 54 2004 (v.1-6)
Pesticide Residues in Food and Drinking Water: Human Exposure and Risks Level 2 / RA 1270 P4 P4823 2004


Best Online Source:

Household Products Database - Pesticides
EPA - Pesticides

If you know the compound or name and want specific chemical information such as reaction data use SciFinder or Reaxys.


5. Where can I find information on Environmental Science?

Best Print Sources:

WorldCat Local (Library Catalog) Results (books, eBooks, dissertations, journal articles) for a Title Search of Environmental Science. For these types of resources, start here and refine your search as needed.

Best Online Source:

Oxford Reference - Earth and Environmental Sciences
EBSCO Greenfile - Articles on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling. Draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.
National Academies Press - Environment and Environmental Studies
Knovel eBook Collection - Environmental Engineering


6. Where can I find information on the synthesis of an organic compound?


Best Print Source:

WorldCat Local (Library Catalog) Results (books, eBooks, dissertations, journal articles) for a Subject Search of Organic Synthesis. For these types of resources, start here and refine your search as needed.

Best Online Source:

Organic Syntheses - Covers preparation of important organic molecules and the illustration of novel synthetic methods. Contains all of the nine Collective as well as Annual Volumes and Indices.
Methods in Organic Synthesis - Covers new reactions and reagents, functional group changes, the introduction of chiral centres, and enzyme and biological transformations. Items are included in MOS only where there are interesting features in organic synthetic methods. 2000-present.



7. Where can I find a named reaction?


Best Print Sources:

Organic Syntheses Based on Name Reactions Level 2 / QD 262 H324 2002
Name Reactions: A Collection of Detailed Reaction Mechanisms Ref. QD 291 L5 2003
Named Organic Reactions - Ref. QD291 .L3513 2005


8. Where can I find information on the toxicity/hazards of a compound?


Best Print Source:

The Merck Index: An Encyclopedia Of Chemicals, Drugs, and Biologicals Ref. RS 51 M4 2006


Best Online Sources:

TOXNET
PubChem


9. Where can I find information on the physical/chemical properties of an inorganic/organic compound?

Best Print Sources:

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics - Babbidge Level 1 Ref QD 65 .H3
Lange's Handbook of Chemistry - Print is at Babbidge Level 2: QD65 .L36
Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook - Print is in Reference TP 151 .P45 2008

Best Online Sources:

NIST Physical Data Gateway NIST Data Gateway provides easy access to many (currently over 80) of the NIST scientific and technical databases. These databases cover a broad range of substances and properties from many different scientific disciplines. The Gateway includes links to free online NIST data systems as well as to information on NIST PC databases available for purchase. Search by keyword, property, or substance name.
NIST Chemistry WebBook

Also see

Materials Science - Handbooks, Encyclopedias, and Web Resources.



10. Where can I find information about the physical properties of an industrial product?


Best Print Source:

Lange's Handbook of Chemistry Ref. Desk / Ref. QD 65 L36


11. Where can I find information on polymers?


Best Print Source:

Polymer Handbook Ref. QD 388 P65 1999



12. I have the Registry Number of a compound, where can I find the name of the compound?


Best Print Sources:

The Merck Index Ref. Desk / Ref. RS 51 M4 2001
Dictionary of Organic Compounds Ref. QD 246 D5 1996
Dictionary of Inorganic Compounds Ref. QD 148 D53 1992
Dictionary of Organometallic Compounds Ref. QD 411 D53 1995


Best Online Source:

ChemSpider
SciFinder Scholar


13. I have the Chemical Abstracts Registry Number of a drug; where can I find information on this substance?


Best Print Source:

The Merck Index: An Encyclopedia Of Chemicals, Drugs, and Biologicals Ref. Desk / Ref. RS 51 M4 2006

Best Online Sources:

SciFinder Scholar
PubMed –National Library of Medicine (NLM)


14. I have the abbreviation of a science journal; how do I find the full title of the journal?


Best Print Sources:

Here are two print resources. For more recent info, it might be better to consult the online resources.
CASSI (Chemical Abstracts Service Source Index) Ref. QD 1 C44 (Current up to 1994)
Ulrich’s International Periodicals Directory Ref. Z 6941 U5 (Current to 1997)

Best Online Sources:

Type the journal abbreviation into the search engine of one of these resources.

PubMed
Ulrich’s International Periodicals Directory


15. I need the structure of a compound and need reaction information for this compound.

Best Print Sources:

Chemical Abstracts 1907+ Ref. QD 1 A 51 - Best source for compounds appearing in the literature prior to 1966.

Best Online Sources:

Reaxys - Provides detailed information on organic compounds with accompanying structure.
SciFinder Scholar


16. Where can I find a patent for the synthesis and/or application of a particular compound?


Best Print Sources:

Chemical Abstracts 1907+ Ref. QD 1 A 51
The Merck Index Ref. Desk / Ref. RS 51 M4 2001


Best Online Sources:

SciFinder Scholar
Reaxys
U. S. Patent and Trademark Office


17. I have a scientific term for which I need a definition; where can I find it?


Best Print Sources:

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics Ref. Desk / Ref. QD 65 H3
Lange’s Handbook of Chemistry Ref. Desk / Ref. QD 65 L36

Best Online Sources:

Wikipedia - Often Wikipedia will be able to give quick, general definitions of scientific terms. If you need a reference for the term, it is better to use the Wikipedia reference list (if available) or find it in another resource.
Oxford Reference - Contains several science reference books for biological and physical sciences.
Google Scholar


18. I need to convert a temperature from 100 Centigrade to Fahrenheit; where can I find conversion factors?


Best Print Source:

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics Ref. Desk / Ref. QD 65 H3

Best Online Source:

Temperature Conversion - from About.com Chemistry
Temperature Conversion - It's a weather site but gets the job done.


19. I am working with a chemical and need to know how to handle the chemical and what precautions I should take.


Best Print Sources:

Hazardous Chemicals Desk Reference Ref. T 55.3 H3 L49 1997
Handbook of Industrial Toxicology and Hazardous Materials Ref. RA 1229 C472 1999
Dangerous Properties of Industrial and Consumer Materials Pharmacy Library / Ref. T 55.3 H3 L15 1994
Bretherick’s Handbook of Reactive Chemical Hazards: An Indexed Guide to Published Data vols. 1-2 Ref. T 55.3 H3 B73 1999


Best Online Source:

NIH TOXNET
Center for Disease Control (CDC) - Workplace Safety, Chemical Safety.
Materials Safety Data Sheet (MSDS) - a definition and list of places to find safety information for substances. There are several other free, privately owned sites that deal with MSDS, such as Safety Information Resources, INC. (SIRI) and MSDS Search Repository


20. Where can I find industrial processes for producing a chemical compound?

Best Print Source:

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology Ref TP9.K54 2004

Best Online Source:

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology

21. Where can I find information on the preparation of a chemical compound for which I have the Registry Number?

Best Online Sources:

Reaxys - Organic compounds only; provides detailed information on organic compounds with accompanying structure.
SciFinder Scholar

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip