Handbook of Porphyrin Science
This is the "Key Resources" page of the "Chemistry" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content


Last Updated: Oct 12, 2016 URL: http://classguides.lib.uconn.edu/chem Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Key Resources Print Page

Off Campus Access

To  access UConn Libraries' resources from off campus, go through the library website. When you click on a licensed resource, you will be prompted for your NetID.

Alternatively, you can use SkyBox. You will be prompted to login from the SkyBox homepage.

If you are having issues with your NetID, contact https://netid.uconn.edu/

Document Delivery/Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Order materials the UConn Libraries don't own--books, journal articles, and videos--via Document Delivery/Interlibrary Loan service. 

Key Chemistry Databases


SciFinder requires registration. SciFinder is the core research and discovery tool for finding chemical substances, reactions, journal articles, and patent records. Covers journals, conference proceedings, patents, dissertations, and books from 1907 to the present. Draw and submit chemical compound and reaction searches directly from ChemDraw into SciFinder. Tutorial


Search the Beilstein Handbook of Organic Chemistry, Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic and Organometallic Chemistry, US Patent and Trademark Office Database, and world and European patents. Database of chemical structures, their associated chemical and physical properties, reaction and synthesis information, and bibliographic data. Can be searched by reaction, substance/structure, property, and citation. Tutorial from UMich Library


Scholarly journal articles with a heavy emphasis on science topics. Search by topic or author. Scopus also includes citation searching--what sources have cited an article or author. 1966 to present for general searching; 1996-present for citation searching. Tutorial


Good for chemical, biochemical, biomedical engineering topics. Over 5,600 journals, trade magazines and conference proceedings indexed annually. Updated weekly, coverage from 1970-present. Tutorial

Other Chemistry Databases

Online Journals

E-Journal Locator

Access one of UConn's online journals.


UConn Library Search

Search for books, journals, videos and other items held by the UConn Libraries

UConn WorldCat

Search for items held at UConn Libraries and beyond. Request items from other University Libraries by clicking on Request Item. 

UConn Health Center Library Catalog

Search for books and other items held in the UConn Health Center Library. Obtain a barcode if you would like to check out books at the UCHC library in Farmington.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Jill Livingston
Contact Info
Homer Babbidge Library
369 Fairfield Road, Unit 1005
Storrs, CT 06269-1005
phone: 860.486.8303
Send Email

Loading  Loading...