To identify a research topic or to conduct background research, consult the following databases:
- CQ Researcher
In-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. From the Congressional Quarterly. 1991 to present.
- CQ Congress Collection
Provides historical analysis of members of Congress, their legislative voting behavior, interest groups, and their interactions in crafting public policy. The Public Policy Analysis section presents legislative information and analysis under 23 broad topics — such as agriculture and nutrition, energy, environment and natural resources, health, and transportation — and hundreds of subtopics.
- Issues and Controversies
Summarizes current issues and controversies in political, economic, social and scientific topics. 1995-current.
- LexisNexis Congressional
Includes Congressional Resarch Service (CRS) reports, with coverage from 1916 to present. CRS, a division of the Library of Congress, provides research reports to members of Congress on a wide range of topics. The reports provide non-partisan, in-depth, and high quality information and can be extremely useful, especially for legislative or public policy research. The reports are in PDF format and are full text searchable. Topics range from foreign relations and Medicare, to agriculture, the environment, and immigration to name just a few.
Agricultural and Resource Economics:
- AgEcon Search
A free Web resource with full-text of working papers, conference papers and journal articles in agricultural economics, including agribusiness, food supply, natural resource economics, environmental economics, policy issues, agricultural trade, and economic development.
Covers every major agricultural subject, including agricultural engineering and marketing, animal breeding, entomology, environmental pollution, farm management, foods and feeds, pesticides, rural sociology, veterinary medicine, and water resources. Citations consist of journal articles, book chapters, monographs, conference proceedings, serials, technical reports, and other materials on a range of agricultural topics.
- AGRIS International
AGRIS International database serves as a comprehensive inventory of worldwide agricultural literature which reflects research results, food production, and rural development to help users identify problems involved in all aspects of world food supply. Emphasis in AGRIS International is non-U.S.Coverage is from 1975-present.
- CAB Direct
Covers agriculture. Includes animal, dairy & veterinary sciences; entomology; plant sciences; forestry; aquaculture & fisheries; farming; agricultural economics; food & human nutrition; earth & environmental sciences. 1973-current.
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
- ABI/Inform with Fulltext
Articles in business, finance, management, accounting, advertising, banking, insurance, marketing, public administration, real estate, and telecommunications. 1991-current (fulltext); 1971-current (index & abstracts).
- Academic Search Premier
This full-text, multidisciplinary database provides access to articles from scholarly journals and popular magazines on all kinds of topics.
Indexes the international literature on economics. Topics include economic development, forecasting, and history; fiscal and monetary theory; business and public finance; international, health care, regional and urban economics, and more. 1969-current.
- Business Source Premier
Business Source Premier contains full-text of articles from popular business magazines, scholarly journals, and trade publications on topics such as accounting, banking, finance, international business, management, marketing, real estate, regional studies, sales, trade and technology. It also includes country reports, industry profiles, and market research reports.
Use Factiva to access full-text articles from thousands of publications, including daily newspapers, magazines, journals, newswires, and trade publications. Click on the News Pages tab in Factiva to browse the current day's front-page headlines from major U.S. newspapers and magazines. Factiva includes full-text of Wall Street Journal from 1979 to present.
Legal & Other:
- LexisNexis Legal
Primary source materials such as federal and state case law, statutes and codes, federal regulations, international legal materials, and patents. Secondary sources include legal news and law review articles. 1980s-current.
- Dissertation Abstracts
Indexes every doctoral dissertation completed in the U.S. at accredited institutions. Includes some master's theses and foreign language dissertations. 1861-present; full-text 1997 to present.
Scopus is a multidisciplinary database containing citations and abstracts for articles published in thousands of peer-reviewed journal. In addition to references and abstracts, Scopus also provides an article’s bibliography and links to articles that have cited the original article.Specifically, it covers topics in health, life sciences, agricultural and biological sciences, chemistry, physics, mathematics, engineering, earth and environmental sciences, social science, psychology, and economics, business, and management. Database Guide