This is the "LibX Features" page of the "LibX @ UConn" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

University of Connecticut University Libraries

LibX @ UConn   Tags: e_resources, libx  

Last Updated: Apr 9, 2013 URL: http://classguides.lib.uconn.edu/LibX Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

LibX Features Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What Is LibX?

 LibX is a browser extension that saves you time and effort by bringing library resources to you when you need them.

Tired of clicking around the library website to check whether we have access to an article you stumbled across online? Want easy access to services like Interlibrary Loan and your favorite databases? LibX provides!

LibX provides features in three ways: links, searches, and services available by clicking the LibX button in your browser's toolbar; seamless integration with websites like Amazon and Wikipedia to embed links to books and full-text articles available through the library; and a right-click context menu

Watch a screencast demo of the major fuctions!

 

Automatically Integrated Links

When you're browsing Amazon, Wikipedia, or many other websites containing ISBN, ISSN, or doi numbers, LibX automatically inserts links to connect you to the content through UConn Libraries. 

Looking at a book on Amazon?

Click the UConn LibX logo at the end of the title, and you'll be popped into the UConn WorldCat page for that book:

Now you can check out a copy from UConn, if we own it, or request it through Interlibrary Loan.

  

Browsing citations on a Wikipedia article? LibX automatically inserts its logo for books and the UCONN Links button for full-text articles:

 

Quick Access Button

Search:

Search any of the options available on the UConn Libraries homepage. The default search is Books & Media Worldwide (UConn WorldCat), but you can change the seach tool by clicking the name and selecting from the list. You can also add and change search fields for more precise searches.

Quick Links:

Enjoy one-click access to services like Ask a Librarian, Interlibrary Loan, and the database locator without navigating the library website.

Proxies:

Ever come across an interesting article or journal on the web and wanted to know whether you had full-text access through UConn Libraries? Now you can find out in one easy step by clicking Reload page with this proxy.

 

Right-Click Context Menu

Highlight text in your browser and right-click to bring up the option to search for that text in any tool LibX searches. (You can specify exactly which tools you want to appear by clicking Preferences under the LibX button, then Context Menu.)

In addition, you can right-click when you don't have text highlighted to bring up a shortcut option to reload the page through the UConn proxy and see if we have full-text access:

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip