This is the "Newspaper Research Databases" page of the "Newspaper Databases" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Newspaper Databases   Tags: hartford courant, journalism, new york times, newspaper, newspapers, proquest  

Last Updated: Feb 9, 2016 URL: http://classguides.lib.uconn.edu/JOUR2000W Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Newspaper Research Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction to Newspaper Research Databases

 

The UConn Libraries provide UConn students and faculty access to several current and historical newspaper databases. These provide access to hundreds of newspapers, news wires (like Associated Press), and transcripts of radio and television news. The LexisNexis news database generally cover news content from the last 25 years, while the New York Times and America's Historical Newspapers provide full-text access to newspaper content back to the colonial era. Use the search tips to get the most from these resources.

Search tips for finding magazine & journal articles

Library journal research databases allow you to quickly search the content of tens of thousands of academic journals and magazines, going back 20 or more years. Using these sources effectively requires some of the same persistance, curiosity, and attention to detail that good journalism requires. Points to remember:

Library databases are not Google!

  • be prepared to try multiple searches, experimenting with different combinations of keywords to broaden or narrow your search
  • use the wildcard symbol (usually * ) to force the search to find different forms of the same word. e.g.
    • ethic* will search for "ethics"  "ethical,"  etc.
  • combine synonmys for the same concept in the search with OR on the same line
  • combine the different concepts you want to be searched at the same time with AND on different lines.
  • Change default setting to search the entire text of stories to get more results

 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Steven Batt
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Contact Info
Homer Babbidge Library
486-6128
Send Email
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip