Literature Liaison Librarians
Storrs: Richard Bleiler
Avery Point: Beth Rumery
Greater Hartford: Marsha Lee
Stamford: Nancy Dryden
Torrington: Sheila Lafferty
Waterbury: Shelley Goldstein
Digital Commons at UConn
"Strict Search" (UConn Libraries' catalog)
Databases for critical articles, chapters, books, and dissertations
This page lists two kinds of research resources:
2. Databases containing some literary criticism but focusing on other subjects
MLA International Bibliography (MLA) (1926 - current; selective coverage 1886 - )
Indexes over 6,000 national and international journals, as well as books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, bibliographies, and some websites. Subjects include literature and drama (English and world), linguistics, literary theory, folklore, rhetoric, composition, and pedagogy. Reviews of literary and scholarly works are excluded, but review articles so identified by the publication in which they appear are normally included.
Contains the full-texts of several hundred important and essential scholarly journals in many fields. JSTOR is rarely current: its most recent material will nearly always be 2 - 5 years old.
Biographical information, overviews, and full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. Many book reviews from popular and semi-scholarly sources are indexed.
The full-texts of several hundred important and essential scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. Project Muse titles are rarely more than 10 years old.
World Shakespeare Bibliography (1962 - current)
Indexes books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media related to Shakespeare.
Academic Search Premier (1980s - current; selective coverage 1920s - )
Indexes 8302 serials, 6915 of which are peer-reviewed, on subjects including news and current events, politics, communication science, business, medicine, psychology, and the arts and literatures.
Scholarly journal articles and popular publications from over over 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines that cover covering cultural, economic, political & social change.
America: History and Life (1964 - current)
Indexes more than 1700 scholarly journals as well as books, chapters, and dissertations about American history and life, from pre-colonial days until the present.
Film and Television Literature Index (1970s - current)
Indexes more than 350 scholarly journals and selectively indexes nearly 300 additional journals, offering access to articles and reviews on writing, production, cinematography, preservation and restoration, and film and television theory.
Historical Abstracts (1956 - current)
Indexes more than 2000 scholarly journals as well as books, chapters, and dissertations about world history and life, excluding America, from 1450 until the present.
International Medieval Bibliography (1967 - current)
Indexes scholarly articles, books, chapters, and conference proceedings for material about Europe, the Middle East and North Africa in the period 400-1500.
ITER (1784 - current)
Indexes more than 1700 scholarly journals as well as books, chapters, and dissertations about the Middle Ages and the Renaissance (400 - 1700).
Philosopher's Index (1940 - current)
Indexes more than 550 scholarly journals as well as books, chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of philosophy, including the Philosophies of Language, Logic, and Religion.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses (1861 - current; fulltext 1997 - current)
Doctoral dissertation completed at accredited US. institutions; also includes some master's theses and international dissertations.
PsycInfo (1872 - current)
Indexes more than 2400 scholarly journals as well as books, chapters, and dissertations on psychology, plus medicine, psychiatry, education, social work, criminology, social science, business, and organizational behavior.
Religion and Philosophy Index (1980s - current)
Indexes more than 300 scholarly journals on world religions, denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
SCOPUS (1966 - current for general searching; 1996 - current for citation searching)
Indexes approximately 5,300 journals from the social sciences and the arts and humanities.
Sociological Abstracts (1952 - current)
Indexes more than 1,800 serials, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
Women's Studies International (1972 - current)
Core topics in women's studies as well as current topics in feminist research. Includes sociology, history, political science, public policy, business, and education. Indexes journals, newspapers, newsletters, books, proceedings, and dissertations. For more resources on Women's Studies available through the University of Connecticut Libraries, please see Women's Studies Resources.
WorldCat (11th century - current)
Catalog of books, journals, DVDs, CDs, scores, manuscripts, and sound recordings from over 9,000 libraries.