Dictionaries (Foreign Language)English LanguageQuotations
Working A-Z lists
Biology & Life SciencesComputingEnvironmental SciencesHealth & MedicinePhysical Sciences & MathematicsScience General
Art, Architecture, & PhotographyMusicPerforming Arts
This is the "Home" page of the "eReference Books" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

eReference Books  

Note: Many of these e-books are only available to UConn students, faculty, & staff (with a valid NetID/password)
Last Updated: Jan 27, 2016 URL: http://classguides.lib.uconn.edu/ERef Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Electronic Reference Books

This guide is for finding eReference books which includes dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks and other reference sources.   Reference works are good sources for background information, quick facts, overview of subject, and fine tuning your topic.  Use the link next to the title to get more information about the book. 

 In addition to the eReference books listed on this guide, the Library subscribes to the following eReference book collections:

ABC-Clio eBooks - Contains more than 340 encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries, and guides focusing on U.S. and world history, current issues, politics, and geography. Browse by individual titles or cross-search across all titles by keyword in full text, title, or author. http://publisher.abc-clio.com/~bookindex?indexLetter=A&indexField=SortTitle

Cambridge Histories Online - Coverage includes: American and world history; economic history and the history of science; together with historical treatments of literature; linguistics; music & theatre studies; philosophy; religion; anthropology and political thought. 1960-2012.    http://universitypublishingonline.org/cambridge/histories/browse_by_subject.jsf     

Gale Virtual Reference Library - Full-text of print reference books from Gale .http://go.galegroup.com/ps/start.do?p=GVRL&u=22516

Oxford Reference Online - 100 language and subject dictionaries and reference works. Subjects include: biology; classics; computing; dance; earth sciences; economics; mythology; history; law; literature; medicine; opera; performing arts; politics; science, theater; and more.  http://www.oxfordreference.com/

Sage Reference Online - Reference e-books in the social sciences.  http://sk.sagepub.com/reference

ScienceDirect Reference - Full-text of 11 reference books in behavioral science, biology, chemistry, cognitive science, drugs, materials science, optics, soils, and more. Offers short articles and entries listing primary journal articles for more in-depth study. See Details for more information and links to specific books.           
 http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/referenceworks/

Links to eReference books in the Social Sciences can be found at http://classguides.lib.uconn.edu/eRefBooks

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Kathy Banas-Marti
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Contact Info
Homer Babbidge Library
369 Fairfield Rd. Unit 1005-RI
Storrs, CT 06269-1005

Phone: (860)486-0843 Fax: (860)486-6100
Send Email
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip